Weekend trips

My sister’s boyfriend runs a camp in South Carolina called Camp Longridge.  During December, they have a weekend camp called Winter Blast and Robyn had suggested that maybe Abby could go this year.  Since we have the inside track, we got to tour the camp a few months ago.  Knowing that Robyn would also be there for the weekend, we decided to allow Abby to go.  She was over the moon excited!

Before the Big Day, I bought some new pajamas for her — and her sister. Because they’re super cute when dressed alike and standing in front of a Christmas tree.

On Friday afternoon, we drove to camp and met up with Robyn.  After checking in, we found Cabin 10 and Abby chose a bunk.

With hugs and promises from Robyn of text or email updates, Wayne, Emma and I headed on to his parents’ house in North Carolina. Camp is conveniently about half way between our house and my in-laws’, so we had decided to spend the weekend there, giving Emma something special to do as well.

She got something special, all right. It snowed.

We had a relaxing day and Emma enjoyed playing in the snow.  Later, she luxuriated amongst the bubbles in Grandma’s super big and super cool tub.

This morning, we headed back to South Carolina to pick up our camper.

Don’t mind the bag of trash that made it into every one of these pictures…

Abby had a great time at camp.  On the drive home, she told us stories about her friends, the games they played, the stories they told, the lessons she learned at the chapel services, how good the food was, and how she got a little homesick and cried for us the first night.

And now we are happily home again.  I have unpacked, and how many things do you think Abby left at camp? Well, here’s what we’ve discovered missing so far…her hairbrush, washcloth, toothbrush (including the holder that I bought for this occasion!), toothpaste, shampoo, and hand sanitizer.  I think next time she goes somewhere without me, I’ll have to make a “re-packing checklist” for her!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Abby, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekend trips

  1. loveandkate says:

    Awww…cuteness! I’m so glad she had a good time!! LOVE it!

  2. Jerusha says:

    I’m giggling about the bag of trash. ;o)

  3. TJ. Church says:

    Don’t be too sure about the missing stuff. I thought I lost some socks on a school trip to Canada, & found them a few months later amongst my stuff at home.

  4. That’s really cool! And I do the matching pj thing too–unfortunately I don’t think I’ll be able to find matching jammies for all three girls next year!

  5. Robyn says:

    All that stuff must be packed in someone else’s bag. Things got a little crazy during the cabin fashion show, but the place was 100% empty when we left.

    I’m glad she had fun. I had a blast too!

  6. Rebecca Dzikowski says:

    So cute! She is just growing up.

  7. Pingback: Trip to Savannah | waymel

Leave a Reply

