Dancing girls

Today the girls had a dance recital. It was really sort of a dry run for their real recital, which is in a couple of weeks. Today’s performance was at a retirement home, and maybe 10 residents came to watch. A good, low-pressure sort of performance for them.  And good for us, personally, since Wayne will not be able to attend the evening show later in the month.

Our girls took the 5-8 year old home school ballet class together this year. Of course, Emma isn’t quite 5, but the teacher allowed her to participate anyway and I think she held her own pretty well.  A jazz class for older girls was also offered by this teacher, so they performed a number as well.  The teacher did a solo dance, and the performance ended with a group number.

If you are not a grandma or an aunt to my children, you probably will not be impressed with these videos. I took them during the rehearsal so that I could enjoy the performance without trying to record it.  You’ve been warned.

The ballet was to “Lion and the Lamb.”

This is the “Funky Mix.” Emma, especially, is having a blast.

Some general pics from the rehearsal. It’s probably obvious that I don’t bother to edit my pictures. I think it’s enough that I manage to upload and post them here. 🙂

I hope the front and back rows were supposed to be doing different things

Sisters and best friends

If you were wondering how many pictures a parent might take of a ballet class to get a good one…I have an answer.

      

A lot. That’s the answer.  That last one was the best I could do, and still not everyone is looking. They were over it in like 5 seconds. They’re beautiful and graceful, but no one ever said they were patient.

I took a few pictures between the run-through and the performance. They were so cute to watch, as they sat in small groups and talked or played hand-clapping games!

Emma holding court

Abby comes up with a new idea - bunny ears!

Aren't they the sweetest little dancers?

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dancing girls

  1. Robyn says:

    Love it! When is the real deal?

  2. TJ. Church says:

    Pictures look great! One quick note: As I pass thru my life, know “bunny ears” is far from a “new idea”. (My best friend did that to me 20+ years ago.)

  3. Jen says:

    I am neither a grandma nor an aunt to your children, and I enjoyed the heck out of this. Emma, in particular, is quite the little dancer. Loved it.

  4. loveandkate says:

    Cuteness!!! I love the photos — you did an excellent job!

  5. Robyn says:

    I came back to see the videos. So cute! Emma was very energetic, and I liked Abby’s moves at the end of the funky mix.

  6. Rebecca says:

    They did a great job! I can’t believe they are thinking of not dancing again next year. It looked so fun.

Leave a Reply

