It’s going to be legen – wait for it –

-dary. Legendary. High five.

My husband, children and one dog have gone to NC for a few days. Do you know what that means, people?

It means I am alone for a few days. Just me and a dog.  Pause and try to take in the wonderfulness of that.

I know.

I searched today – in vain, sadly – for the clip of Mad About You where Jamie goes to help her dad for a few days and Paul is giddy at being home alone. He walks around the kitchen telling Murray, the dog, about all the things that are “mine.” He leaves cupboard doors open, just because he can. He drinks from the milk carton (“Milk, a perfect example of things that are MINE.”) and notices, “Virtually empty, yet I put it back in the fridge.”

The point is, I feel the same way. (Although, there is zero chance that I will leave cupboard doors open.)  I have big plans for reading, cleaning out toys, working on grant applications, reading, trying some new classes at the gym, taking Miley for regular walks, and reading.  Did I mention reading?

I bet you’re wondering what I’ve done so far with all this freedom.  Well, you know how dogs get all excited when they see you taking a bunch of stuff to the car? When I put Maggie’s leash by the door, both dogs went nuts.  And then everyone but me and Miley got in the van and left, which thrilled me to no end and sort of bummed Miley out.  So, even though I had planned to go straight to the gym when they left, I decided – for Miley’s sake – that I should sit down and watch my Netflix DVD of Season 3 of How I Met Your Mother.  She calmed down pretty quickly, and after a couple of episodes I decided to hit the gym.

But oh! Would you look at that? It started raining.  Hard. Obviously, I couldn’t go out in that. I mean, it was really coming down.  Might as well knock out a few more episodes.  Dinner? Well, I was planning to go grocery shopping after the gym, so I had to rummage in the pantry for a good option.  I settled on popcorn and a can of Diet Coke. A stellar choice.  Much better than the leftover chicken and vegetables in the fridge.

It did stop raining for a bit, but after a dinner like that, who wants to work out? Gross.  I did walk around the block with Miley.  And it’s a good thing I burned all those calories, because when I went to the store I decided I needed a couple of things of ice cream.

What? They’re small. I need choices.  And with all those extra gym classes I’ll be taking – not to mention the walks with Miley – I can totally handle it.

Day 1: AWESOME.

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s going to be legen – wait for it –

  1. loveandkate says:

    Ha ha ha! I love this so much! LOVE it! I would be the same way for sure! If you need help with that ice cream, let me know. I will totally ditch my boys for ice cream.

  2. Jen says:

    Sounds awesome. Please don’t give away the bed.
    What kind of ice cream did you get?

  3. Wayne says:

    Mad Without You, Season 3. All I could come up with.
    Glad you had a good day!

  4. Becca says:

    Oh Melanie, that totally cracked me up! You probably burned calories just THINKING of all that stuff you’re gonna be doing! As soon as I can get to the grocery store, I’m making some honey/coconut milk ice cream. Until then, I’ll just have another Vanilla Coke, please…

  5. Robyn says:

    Ha! Now I understand your “party like a rock star” gmail status. I hope day two is just as awesome. Please post so we can all share in your joy.

  6. Tim Church says:

    Sounds awesome, but makes me a little jealous I could never repeat it. Half the time I get when Mom goes away, I spend thinking about what to do instead of truly doing it.

Leave a Reply

