Some stuff we’ve been doing…

A few weeks ago, the library at Ft. Gordon had a tie dye event.  We bought white t-shirts and gave it a try!

They were thrilled with the final results!

We met some other families from church for a day at the lake. One family brought floats, which greatly increased the fun! They had a blast playing in the water, making crafts and eating snacks.

This is our new chalkboard! We Wayne painted it right on the wall! I can’t imagine how I taught without it; we use it every single day!

They wanted to match.

Speaking of school, here are a few pics of the girls during the school day.  Emma was reading to me, relaxing on the couch with her head in my lap, and I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures (wish I were better at that, but whatever). What a great place to improve one’s reading skills…barefoot, comfy, at home with Mom. Home schooling’s the best.

I really super-duper love that girl.

Here’s Abby, under the table. No, that’s not where I put her for time outs. 🙂 We were working on prepositions. “A preposition is a word that shows the relationship of a noun or pronoun to another word in the sentence.” Get it? Abby is under the table. Under is the preposition showing the relationship of the noun, Abby, to the other word, table. Thank you, First Language Lessons. You rock.

She's soo going to be a grammar nerd.

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some stuff we’ve been doing…

  1. Becca says:

    Looks fun! Love your chalkboard wall. We’re talking about putting one up in the office.

    By the way, you know that a preposition is anywhere a cat can go, right? 🙂

  2. Joy says:

    We LOVE grammar nerds! And I am jealous of your chalkboard. Even though we are not homeschooling, I think that would be really cool to have!!!

  3. yay! love the wall! and those BOB books!! Homeschool Rocks!!!

  4. Reminds me of the time I went under the table @ Aunt Carol’s old house…. Though it has nothing to do with school. Long story.

    Anyway, thanks for the pics.

  5. Jen says:

    HA! I was just gonna say, “Did you ever hear the story of Tim under the table at Aunt Carol’s house?” It’s a classic.
    Yay for grammar nerds! Hip hip hooray!!
    Love the chalkboard wall, too. Is it a special kind of paint?

    • waymel says:

      Yeah, we bought it at Lowe’s. Like $10. You put on a few coats, let it “cure” for a few days (no idea what that means, for the record, but I obediently did it), cover it with chalk, erase and you’re good to go! The kids love it.

  6. shirley wilmoth says:

    If I still had little girls at home, I’d be fixin’ to go to Lowe’s right now! That chalkboard is great…as are the pics of those two little tanned Southern girls. I’m still a grammar nerd and will always be.
    Thanks for the post.

  7. Robyn says:

    Love the chalk board – that would come in handy. Love Em’s eyes in that second to last picture.

  8. Rebecca says:

    That’s what I thought too, Robyn. I know I always say this, but I can’t help it – they are growing up so fast!

Leave a Reply

