Trying new things

We’ve tried some new things around here this week. I’m trying to read aloud to the girls more, and I decided it might be good for them to have something to do while they’re listening – something to keep their hands occupied while they listen. Since I have no craft skills whatsoever, I enlisted the help of a friend who knits and crochets. She patiently taught Abby and me a few basic things to help us get started. (Emma played busily with her friends the whole time and then cried, “Why didn’t I get to learn?” when they left.)

We did pretty well (if I do say so myself!) with the finger knitting, but when the needles came out, we got lost pretty quickly. Baby steps.

Abby loved it, especially the crocheting. She has many exciting plans for baby doll scarves and blankets, hair bands and bracelets.  She’s already promised to make several things for friends!

Abby also started soccer this week. 

She’s playing for the county, on an “under 8” girls team.  We think she’s the only one on the team who hasn’t played before, but she had a blast at the first practice and her coach seems very nice.

Emma decided to take dance again, this time a jazz class (she did ballet with the same teacher last year). She’s also taking violin now.  We are a part of a wonderful Suzuki group, and Emma was thrilled to be at group as a participant and not just a spectator!

I’m so thankful for these opportunities for my beautiful, healthy, busy girls!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trying new things

  1. Jerusha says:

    Um, would you be willing to home school my kids too? For a small fee? ;o)

  2. Jen says:

    Love, love, LOVE!! I think I used to do the finger knitting thing when I was a kid, but I wish I knew how to really crochet. Or knit. Or even knew the difference. 😉
    I miss you all!

  3. shirley wilmoth says:

    what beautiful girls!! I’m so proud of them and so glad also that they have opportunities to do these things and to learn so much. Remember Robyn fingerknittig when she was about Abby’s age? I once learned to knit from my Aunt and was confident to try a pair of slippers and that did not go well at all and I turned in my needles. Thanks for posting this. I have thoroughly enjoyed.
    I’m glad Abby’s soccer team is getting started.

  4. loveandkate says:

    I loved this post! How fun! I had never heard of finger knitting. (Is that weird?) But it looks awesome and when Abby is ready, she can totally make me a scarf. Ha! LOVE.

  5. Rebecca says:

    I’ll take a scarf or two, also. Maybe even an afgan. Emma looks so happy at her lesson!

  6. Robyn says:

    I had totally forgotten about finger knitting! I used to do that a lot. Abby looks so big at soccer practice… and Em looks thrilled to be taking violin.

Leave a Reply

