Adoption Update

Our adoption agency just sent us a note stating that they would like us to have our account paid in full by the end of the year. Is that feasible? was the gentle question.

I had no answer other than, We’ll do our best.

A few months back, after we emerged from the piles and piles of paperwork required to complete the adoption process, we I filled out three grant applications and decided to take a breather.  Wayne’s mantra (it’ll be fiiiiiiine) in my ear, I allowed myself to relax and believe that things would work out.

And, you know, dove into my pile of theology books.  Where I’ve been ever since.

We did receive one grant.  We haven’t heard anything from the other two organizations (although I was told that we will probably have an interview with a local ministry next month).

So now that our agency has oh-so-gently reminded us that we need to get it in gear and pay the bill, I’m ready to get to work.  Tonight I completed the online application for a grant from Show Hope.  I also contacted Adoption Bug about selling t-shirts on their website.

I do feel overwhelmed, though.  Paying for an adoption is a big task for most adoptive parents.  Maybe I’m just feeling sorry for myself tonight, but I do think it must be easier for people with a strong support system.  We don’t have close, local friends.  We’d like to, but when you move every few years it becomes difficult to form those kinds of relationships.  I look around and think, Who would help us? Who would do a fundraiser for/with us?  I know people who have done yard sales, large group childcare, even a race.  We’re on our own.  How could we do any of that alone?

But as I fill out these grant applications and add up how much we’ve paid so far, I am astounded.  How a one-income, enlisted military family could pay the amount we’ve paid thus far is beyond me.  It’s nothing short of miraculous, really.

Do you want to help? Here are some things you can do to help us:

1. Pray for us.  Pray for the bill to be paid by the end of the year.  Pray that God would prepare us to parent Ben.  Pray that God would, somehow, prepare Ben’s little heart to come to America and join our family.

2. If you’ve adopted, give us advice! What worked for you in raising money? What didn’t work?

3. If you have ideas for fundraising, let’s have ’em!  What do you think would work?

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adoption Update

  1. Jerusha says:

    I will be praying for you and Ben. I’ll think some more about fundraising (have put all that far, far, far behind me!) and maybe send some thoughts your way. I’ve seen a LOT of neat ideas, some of which would absolutely not work for me, but who knows?

  2. Rebecca says:

    I do wish you had more support. I also wish I were a millionaire. If there is any way I can help, I will drive down there and do so!

  3. loveandkate says:

    LOVE y’all! I’ll be praying for you and I will definitely help in any way I can! Seriously. Whatever fundraiser you do, you can count on me to help/donate.

  4. Robyn says:

    I’m thinking… I’m thinking….

Leave a Reply

