5 Quick Takes

The list of things I wanted to blog about is getting too long, so I’m going to do one of those “quick takes” posts.

1. The answer to the cliffhanger question in my last post is….(imaginary drumroll)…Anglican.  (Who guessed it?)  At this point, I seem to identify most as an Anglican.  I love the Anglican liturgy; the language is so beautiful.  While I don’t know a whole lot about the church year (since in my tradition we were more likely to observe Mother’s Day and the 4th of July than any saints’ days), I think it’s a really lovely and meaningful way to order time and I would like to experience it more fully.  Another point that interests me is their openness to the work of the Holy Spirit.  The new(ish) organization, the Anglican Mission in America, identifies its core beliefs with the words Scripture, Sacred and Spirit.  Jack Deere is speaking at their Winter Conference. (I sure wish I could go!)  The church we visited a number of times in Florida is part of the AM.  When we move next time, maybe we’ll be near an Anglican church.  If not, we might just stay with the PCA.  I don’t see us going back to a contemporary, non-liturgical, non-traditional format.

2. Last weekend we went to Atlanta.  The girls and I attended Homeschool Day at Stone Mountain and had a blast. Then we hung out with my sisters – BOTH of them! – for the rest of the weekend.  Robyn blogged about it so capably that I’m going to send you there to read about our adventures.  For those who can’t get enough of us, also go read Kate’s post.  And really, you should just subscribe to Kate’s blog while you’re there, because she’s awesome.  So was our weekend in Atlanta.

3. I’m dieting again.  I’m at my biggest in life, non-pregnant.  It’s only maybe 8 pounds more than I weighed when I got married (almost 10 years ago), but it still needs to go.  Eight pounds is easier to get rid of than 18 or 28, right?  That makes logical sense but it sure doesn’t feel like it’s true.  Losing weight is killer hard for me.  I followed Atkins last spring for a couple of months and was really pleased with it.  I lost a few pounds and felt great.  Then came Easter.  I thought, “A few bites of candy won’t hurt, I’m doing so well.” And then I started double fisting those darned malted eggs and it all went kaplooey.  This time around, I’ve simplified things: no sugar and no bread or bread-y things (like pizza).  And lots of vegetables.

4. Along with the dieting, I’m trying to get my workouts back on track.  We used to go to the gym in the mornings.  The Y childcare allows homeschooled kids to go in the preschool room, since the school-age room is obviously not open until after school hours.  I thought it was easier to get my workout in early in the day, well before the whole dinner/bath/bed thing.  But it was also difficult to get our school day back on track after we got home from the gym.  (And lunch. Which the kids always wanted to eat OUT…because we were already out and oh-so-hungry…)  So over the summer, I quit going in the morning.  I told myself I would make time in the evenings.  Guess what? I didn’t.  So in addition to eating sugar, bread and pizza, I was working out maybe once a week.  Hello, belly fat.  So we’re back to morning workouts.  I just have to push harder to get school work done in the afternoons.  Wayne was right when he reminded me that the kids have to refocus in the afternoons at regular school, too.

5. The last month has felt insanely busy.  I feel like we’re running constantly, something to do every day.  The girls both take violin.  Abby is playing soccer, but that’s only for 6 weeks.  Emma takes jazz, but that’s only 1 hour a week.  We attend co-op on Tuesday afternoons.  And that’s it.  It doesn’t sound like much, but I kept wondering why we were so busy, why we never seemed to be home, just doing home things.  I love being home, doing home things!  A few days ago it hit me: We are in a new stage of life.  The preschool days are over.  I survived them.  I survived the sleepless nights and the constant hands-on care.  But that’s over; we’re in the school stage now.  This is how it’s going to be for the next 10 years or so.  My girls don’t need me to feed them, bathe them, clothe them or take care of the potty stuff.  But I do teach them (honestly a full-time job in itself), and make sure they are memorizing their verses and catechism, and practice violin with them, and check their co-op homework, and take them to their activities…  I’m discovering a new normal.  I think it’ll take awhile to get used to.  Good thing I’m working out again!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 Quick Takes

  1. Jen says:

    Hey, thanks for the update.
    That’s all I have to say. 🙂

  2. Kathie Hein says:

    The Anglican church year isn’t that complicated- and it flows from one season to another. It doesn’t really have much to do, for laypeople, with Saints Days. Oh, a church might still celebrate a particular Saint’s day, especially the one they are named after. And some rare churches might even have church services offered on Saint’s Days, but those really ARE rare. Your average Anglican couldn’t name a single Saint’s Day. I can name exactly 1- the Feast of St Stephen, on Dec 26th. Or maybe they’d name All Saints’ Day, which is the day after All Souls’ Day (aka Halloween) Anyway, the Liturgical, or Church Year starts in Advent. Advent means “Prepare” and is the season where the church is preparing for the birth of Christ. Technically, it’s supposed to be a rather somber time, but churches struggle with this. But normally, you’ll get at least until the 3rd Sunday in Advent (“Mary Sunday- the candle is pink, instead of purple (or the blue the Episcopal church demanded they go to, to differentiate from the Catholics) The color on the altar during Advent is Purple. The next season is Christmas. It starts at Sundown on Christmas Eve (technically, the day starts at Sundown. Which is why when Christmas Eve lands on a Sunday, you can take communion in the morning, when it’s the 4th Sunday in Advent, and still take communion that evening or night, when it’s Christmas Eve- when normally, you are only supposed to take communion once a day) Christmas lasts through Jan 5th, and its color is White. On Jan 6th, Epiphany starts. Epiphany celebrates the wise men bringing their gifts to (the Toddler) Jesus, and the escape into Egypt. Its color is Green. Epiphany doesn’t END until Mardi Gras/Fat or Shrove Tuesday- the day you use up all the rich and fattening things before Ash Wednesday, which begins the season of Lent. Lent lasts for 40 days, not counting Sundays. Since Easter moves to be the first Sunday after the full moon after the Vernal Equinox, some years, Epiphany is longer than in others. Lent is the season for reflecting and fasting and prayer. From Ash Wed to Easter Sunday, traditional churches leave out the “Alleluia” in the prayers/responses, and singing. All the palms that were left over from the previous year’s Palm Sunday are burned to create the ashes that are used to put on the foreheads for Ash Wednesday. Lent leads to “Holy Week” which starts on Palm Sunday, and celebrates Jesus’ triumphant entry into Jerusalem. The Gospel that day is the Passion- with various people in the Congregation given parts to read, and the rest of the Congregation reading the part of The Crowd. I both love and hate Palm Sunday for this reason (for me, at least, shouting “Crucify Him!” is terrible. It remains quiet, until Maunday Thursday, which celebrates the foot washing and The Last Supper. After Communion on Maunday Thursday, the altar is stripped bare to remove all ornaments and symbols of God’s presence. Then the last prayers are said and the choir and priest, etc recess in silence. Good Friday is the Crucifiction. The altar remains bare for those services, and no music. I’ve never actually attended the Easter Vigil service on “Holy Saturday” but typically it starts in dark and quiet, and then as the sun sets, everyone will ring whatever bell they’ve brought, to celebrate the Resurrection. Then the service goes into full Celebration mode. Lent’s color is purple. Holy Week’s colors are red, until Good Friday, which is black. During Easter, they try to stick in all the Alleluia’s they didn’t say during Lent. 😉 Easter lasts for 50 days, and ends on The Feast of Pentecost. Pentecost is the day the Holy Spirit came into the world. Pentecost’s color is Red for the tongues of fire that descended on the Apostles. Then from the day after Pentecost, until Advent, it’s simply “The Days after Pentecost” or “Ordinary Days” and the color goes back to green, as life goes on, until the year rolls around to Advent again.

    I wish there were an easier way (other than walking in to the service- and being prepared to walk out again later) to find an Anglican church that, although they’ve broken away from the Episcopal Diocese, hasn’t turned into a bitter Homophobic place full of Hate. I can’t attend an Episcopal church anymore, but I don’t want what too many of the splinter churches become, either. I think I may end up attending a Lutheran church. 😦

  3. loveandkate says:

    I love all these updates and that you think I’m awesome. Ha! 🙂 Feeling is mutual, my friend! Also, I had never thought about your #5! Hope your “new normal” goes well — and I’m sure it will. Those girls are precious!

Leave a Reply

