Thanksgiving 2011

My family came to visit us for Thanksgiving this year.  They didn’t all come at once, it was more of a revolving door sort of affair.  But I was so happy to have everyone here!  Like Monica Gellar, I’m always the hostess.  Or at least, I like to be.

On Wednesday afternoon, my mom arrived.  We talked and talked and went out for pizza.  Then she read to the girls before they went to bed and we made some pies.

So sweet.

Thursday morning was a busy combination of cooking and waiting for my boys, Straight No Chaser, to show up on the Macy’s Parade.  Also?  I made some trail mix and kept snacking on that while we waited for my sister to arrive.  More on the trail mix later.

Robyn arrived just in time for lunch.  I don’t go crazy for Thanksgiving, but we had a small turkey, a larger-than-we-needed ham, sweet potato casserole, rolls, mashed potatoes and gravy, mashed cauliflower (faux mashed potatoes), and cranberry sauce.  Everything was delicious!

Mom took a break from fixing her plate to check her email.  She’s very plugged in. 😉

I do like her shirt, though!

I always forget to make the table look pretty.

All the bacon in that picture cracks me up.  I made bacon to go with the cauliflower, but some people – the youngest among us – who didn’t want cauliflower did want bacon.  Which makes it look like bacon was a main course at our meal. 🙂

Later, we took a walk and then tried the pumpkin pie (low carb!) and apple pie.  Everything was great, but by then my stomach was killing me!  I didn’t feel like I’d eaten too much, but that was the only cause I could think of.  As the day went on, my stomach continued to hurt, until I finally started googling “stomach pain” and studying diagrams of the abdomen to see which rogue organ was going to need to be removed by morning.  I ended up taking some pain medication, which made me sick.  And that was, in the end, a good thing.  Apparently, I ate too many peanuts while I was cooking.  So many in fact, that I may never again ingest another peanut.  I should have followed Abby’s lead and only eaten the chocolate chips out of the trail mix.

Robyn and Mom had decided to stay until Friday so that they would be here when my youngest sister, Rebecca, and her kids arrived.  In the meantime, Robyn and I taught the girls to play “This is a Spoon, ” a game we loved to play in our youth.  It didn’t go all that well, but we enjoyed the effort anyway.

This is a spoon. A what? A spoon. A what? A spoon! Oh! A Spoon!

The Tennessee contingent arrived and we all ate together.  The last time we were all together (including Mom) was 2006.

Cousins

After dinner, Mom decided she’d better get a head start on her trip home.  We grabbed some photos before she left.  I think my sisters are shrinking, because I didn’t used to be so tall.

My sweet mama

Too bad Mom couldn’t stick around.  We did some singin’ later that night.  You might even call it sangin’.

Show tunes, anyone?

While we sang, the 5 kids ran wild upstairs.  We opted to sing louder rather than go check on them.  Once we had sung our little hearts out, Robyn had to go.  (Thanks for the clothes you left behind, btw.  The Djibouti pants are really comfy.)

Rebecca and I finally attended to our littles and got them settled in front of the tv to slow down before bed.  They were having so much fun hanging out together!  We let them sleep in one room…you can imagine how long it took for them to fall asleep!

On Saturday we just let them play while we talked.  It was pretty much perfect.  That evening we went to see a light display, which we all enjoyed.

They stayed one more night and went to church with us, which was a great last minute decision!  I loved having my family visit.  Y’all are the best! Come back soon!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thanksgiving 2011

  1. Kate says:

    Okay, that looks like the most awesome Thanksgiving EVER! I’m so excited y’all all got to be together! And talk and catch up! And the cousins played together so well! Looks like a wonderful, wonderful time.

  2. Rebecca says:

    It really was such a nice visit. It’s great to be so much closer to you!

  3. Jen says:

    Awwwwwww. What a nice time. Thanks for the warm fuzzies. 🙂

  4. I was kinda curious how it all went, since I had previously only heard about the to-&-from parts.
    Scary thought: I read about the “This is A…” game, & still remembered when you taught it to me & J.

  5. Holly Nalley says:

    Loved looking at this/reading: ) Would’ve loved to hear y’all sang : ) ! Love your sweet little boy’s pic up there- can’t wait til you have him!

  6. shirley wilmoth says:

    It was a wonderful visit and Thanksgiving and though I had to cover a lot of miles, It was more than worth it! I love you all so very much. Thanks, Mel for a great blog capturing of our time together.

  7. Robyn says:

    Love the recap! I don’t think you’re that much taller – did you bust out some fancy heels for that picture?

Leave a Reply

