Our low-carb month

For the month of January, our family eliminated sugar and grains from our diet.  (At least, as much as we could. As I mentioned at the end of my first post about it, we did eat ketchup even though it contains sugar.  I’m sure sugar was an ingredient in some other things like that as well, but the sugar count was always very low overall.)

I thought I’d report back, in case you were hanging out at your computer, waiting eagerly for an update from me on the matter. 🙂

We said we’d do this for a month and then decide if we wanted to continue or tweak it or give it up or what.   The food we purged from our pantry has been sitting in a box in our bedroom, awaiting our decision.

Now I have to figure out what to do with it.  Because we’re low-carb for good, y’all.

The only change is that we will allow the kids to have whatever garbage sugary treats are being given out at church or co-op or wherever.  They have done an awesome job of saying, “No thanks, we’re not eating sugar” when they’ve been offered treats away from home.  I’ve actually been amazed at their ability to do that.  But Wayne and I decided that if we keep that stuff out of our house, we can let them indulge when they are out and about.  I mean, they’re home schooled, they’re with us most of the time.

We lost more than 12 pounds as a family.  Although our goal for the kids was not weight loss, we all weighed at the beginning and end of the month (or possibly, some of us, once or twice a day because we’re neurotic like that), just so we could see what happened. Everyone lost.

We didn’t eat less; we weren’t hungry.  We just ate different foods.  We had to change our “go to” foods.  The kids ate quite a bit more fruit, since crackers were off the table.  (Literally. Ha!)  I made some treats with Splenda and either soy or almond flour.  We were not deprived.

We did spend more on groceries (all that bacon!), but less on eating out.  Speaking of eating out, it’s hilarious to see my kids at a restaurant.  Sunday we went to Logan’s and they split a rack of ribs.  Not exactly your typical kid meal.  They thoroughly enjoyed their meal and didn’t seem to miss the fries and macaroni they might have ordered before.

Basically, we had a month of great food, lost weight, feel great and have no plans to turn back.  Ever.

Did you go get the Gary Taubes book yet?  No?  Maybe check out this website  for some great information about the importance of controlling insulin.  I am convinced that this is information everyone should have, not just for weight loss but for health.

Now, put down your bagel and go make some bacon! 🙂

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our low-carb month

  1. Jerusha says:

    Ok, bacon here I come. Melanie gave me permission. 😉

  2. Joy says:

    Good for you! How exciting! I’m impressed at how you were able to get the whole family to do it. That is something I struggle with!! Keep it up; you’re inspiring. 🙂

  3. Robyn says:

    Very impressive! If I could live with you I bet I would do awesome for my contest prep.

  4. Keri says:

    Wondered how it went… we’re headed that way too, I think.

  5. I’ve never been a bacon fan, though can just picture Mom & J pigging out on it. (HA!) I’ve heard carbs are bad for diabetics, though, so maybe I’ll look into this myself soon. (Though I need to avoid much weight loss.)

  6. I am beyond impressed how you do this as a family! What wonderful ideals you are instilling in your children.

Leave a Reply

