Take My Life and Let It Be

The way we sang it in the denomination of my youth:

Take my silver and my gold:

Not a mite would I withhold;

Take my moments and my days;

Let them flow in ceaseless praise.

The way we sing it in our current church, which, as far as I can tell, is the original:

Take my silver and my gold,
Not a mite would I withhold.
Take my intellect and use
Every pow’r as Thou shalt choose.

I’d like to know the story behind that one.  I’ve long felt that there is often a prejudice against intellect in the Pentecostal tradition, but I didn’t realize they went all out and changed hymn lyrics to exclude the very mention of the word!

Anyone know more about this?

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take My Life and Let It Be

  1. Rebecca says:

    Ha! I wonder why anyone would do that! I thought the seeming prejudice against thinking much was more of an oversight, not deliberate.

Leave a Reply

