Emma turns 6

My Emma Kate is 6!  We celebrated with a pool party at Fort Gordon.  The kids had a blast, and it was probably the easiest party I ever hosted.  We just showed up and enjoyed it.  Emma said she wanted a Walmart cake.  (I know. But she insisted.)  So we took her to Walmart before the party, let her pick one out, and had the person behind the counter write her name on it.  Gotta love those accommodating middle kids.

Getting there was a bit of an adventure, though.  I’d like to call it yard sale brain.  (Yes, we gave our daughter a party the day after we held the yard sale. Brave? Or stupid?  You decide.)  We left for the party and realized we had left the cake at home.  Headed out again and realized Wayne didn’t have his ID (can’t get on Ft. Gordon without it).  We were fashionably late for our own party.  Once we were there, I realized that I had forgotten the camera, so all these were taken with my phone.

Some day, when we look back at these photos, we’re going to look very carefully at the child third from the right in the back and wonder, who is that?  I won’t know then, because I don’t know now.  She played with Emma in the water, and then marched up to me and asked for cake and a drink.  Bold, tiny party crasher.

The pool was closed all last summer for a huge remodel.  There’s a deep end with two diving boards to the left of the picture.  It has something for everyone!

SK likes to cross her eyes for pictures.

You’d think it was Abby’s birthday, from this picture.  We older sisters just can’t stop ourselves from taking control being helpful…it’s what we do…

I also may have stolen a towel from a stranger at this party.  When everyone left, there was a towel at one of our tables.  I took it with me so I could return it to whichever friend had left it.  But no one’s claimed it.  Maybe it belonged to the tiny party crasher.  That’ll teach her.

Happy Birthday, Emma!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Emma turns 6

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    looks like the party was a huge success. They all look happy. Good thing you had your phone for picture taking.

  2. Jen says:

    What a nice party (and a nice pool)!
    Happy birthday, Emma!!

  3. Looks like a fun one… Oh, & I agree with the “older sister” comment (though I only have the one).

  4. redkeeney says:

    Wow – nice upgrade at the pool! Love how happy Em looks.

Leave a Reply

