TRAVEL CALL

We were notified this morning that we have travel clearance!

I was pretty sure the call would come today, and I felt ready, not particularly emotional.  But when she said the words – “you are cleared for travel” – the tears came as I exhaled the breath I didn’t know I’d been holding.

You’d think I’d be super busy today, but I’m sort of stuck and unable to do some of the things I’d like to do.

I can’t do pre-packing laundry because the dryer is broken.  I think Wayne just has to get a part for it.  (Otherwise, I’ll be headed to the laundromat this week!)

I can’t do the obvious – work on flight arrangements – without Wayne.  I know he found some good deals a few nights ago, but I don’t know where and he’s basically unreachable at work.  (So busy keeping our country safe.)

So I took the girls out for lunch to celebrate, and then worked on cleaning the bedrooms upstairs.  The girls helped, and it definitely looks better than it did, but we’ll probably be working on that for a few more days.  So. Many. Toys.  (More thoughts on that to come, probably after our trip.)

But we will be working on our flight this week – remember, this is a “space available” flight, so please pray that we will be able to get a fairly concrete answer about the flight we hope to take.  And soon.

Thanks to all who prayed for us about the grant money.  Everything worked out and we have the funds we need!  What a relief!

We were told that we can expect to take custody of Ben after our first meeting.  This is surprising – usually families meet with the child and foster family soon after arriving in Korea and take custody a few days later.  The Korean agency said it would be best if we had a meeting with him, probably at a park, and then took custody at the end of that meeting.  So we will have him with us all week in Korea.  Hopefully that will give us time to adjust to each other before we take that long plane ride home!

Also? He said he would like us to take him out for pork chops.

Yeah, that’s right.  My three-year old son wants pork chops.

And I get to meet him in 6 days!

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TRAVEL CALL

  1. 2hoovers says:

    woooohooo!! so exciting! praying for the final pieces of the puzzle to fall into place…always opportunities for growing faith…

  2. Congratulations!!! Good luck on further steps!

  3. Jen says:

    I love this sooooo much!! Can’t wait for you to meet your little boy!!!

  4. Rebecca says:

    I think it is awesome that he wants pork chops!

  5. Robyn says:

    very exciting! hope all the travel stuff works out for saturday.

Leave a Reply

