Tweaking

In case you’re interested, I thought I’d post the tweaks I’ve decided to make to my diet.

The short version:

  • Cut dairy and all treats, 6 days a week.
  • Add a cheat day; eat anything I want to on that day.

After I posted my frustrations on Friday, I did some more googling and reading for possible solutions.  I ended up reading about the 4 Hour Body plan, which is very similar to how I’ve been eating – it’s low carb – but even more strict.  No dairy.  No Splenda.

While it does seem terribly unfair that some people – many people! – can lose like crazy while still eating cheese and heavy cream and ranch and a daily treat made with Splenda or some other sugar substitute, apparently – and so sadly – I cannot.

So.  Stricter for the most part.  But Tim Ferriss, the author of 4 Hour Body, insists on a cheat day – one day each week when you just go crazy and eat whatever you want.  Knowing that you can indulge one day a week helps you to be more disciplined with the diet, plus eating more occasionally helps with some hormone science-y stuff that sounded convincing and fully persuaded me before it left my memory entirely. 🙂

I know the cheat day is controversial, but it’s a standard part of lots of strict diets, including the popular Body for Life. I’m going to go with it and see what happens.

Oddly enough, after I made the decision to cut dairy and Splenda, I saw this article by a low-carb blogger, suggesting that cutting dairy is a good idea if you want to lose weight.

(He previously wrote about cutting artificial sweeteners here. Not super-convincingly, really, but I’m going to cut them anyway and see if it helps my results.)

I decided to make Sunday my cheat day.  Today being Sunday, not to mention Funny Commercial and Eat A Lot Day, I decided to go ahead and enjoy some treats.  Pizza, ice cream, Diet Coke and a small brownie.

Fine.  Two small brownies.  They were good.

Tomorrow I’m back on the straight and narrow with my protein and veggies.

I expect the extra pounds to melt away like magic.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tweaking

  1. Good Luck! Sounds like a great plan, and you sound less frustrated–which is definitely good. On a side note, The Four Hour Body sounds amazing–what did you think of it?

    • waymel says:

      Hope springs eternal… 🙂
      The guy seems very confident that his plan works, but he’s pretty extreme. I got the book. It’s interesting for sure!

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    Armed with new knowledge and determined (and remembering you can have another brownie in 6 days) I hope you are getting off to a good start this morning)

  3. redkeeney says:

    good luck! I think tweaking the diet will help. Maybe the “many people” who can lose while still eating those things were previously eating french fries and chicken fingers for breakfast, lunch and dinner… because I wouldn’t lose eating creams and dairy either.

    Are you still planning to do the 5k? It is also my experience that nothing leans you out like running, even when you don’t have much to lose….

Leave a Reply

