I haven’t been taking very many pictures lately, but I know Ben’s foster family checks my blog for pictures of him and I thought it was time to post a few.

Wayne had a birthday in late January, and the kids got busy making cards and collecting toys to give to him. 🙂

003

The Navy base held a Valentine’s Day dance for the kids.  Abby and Emma had a great time getting all fixed up to go.  Abby won 2nd place for Best Dress!

What happened to my babies?  Such lovely girls I have.

005 006 007 008

Although I hate crafts, I broke down and bought them a card-making kit and they had a blast being crafty.  I figured since I wasn’t going to buy them candy, I could make this small sacrifice.

009

Ben loves to play on the computer now – mostly games on Nick Jr.

010 011

One interesting thing about his development, or attachment, is that he’s started to talk about his life in Korea.  When he first came home, he cried for his Omma, carried her picture around, and drew pictures of himself and her all the time.  That didn’t last too long; he seemed to have decided to stay with us and then he never wanted to talk about Korea.  For months, if you mentioned his foster family, he would say, “I stay here. Mommy, Daddy, Abby, Emma.  I stay here.”  Every time, that was his response.  He stopped speaking Korean almost entirely (only 2-3 words remain) and his English took off.

In the last couple of weeks, he’s started to act okay with remembering his life in Korea.  We saw snow on a tv show and I asked him if he missed the snow.  He said he did.  I told him that it doesn’t snow here in Florida.  To my surprise, he grinned great big and joked, “We’ll have to go to Omma’s house!”

He asked me to stay with him awhile at bedtime the other night.  I asked him if he liked having his own room and sleeping alone.   “No,” he said.  “In Korea, you slept with Omma, huh?”  “Yeah.  And Appa!  It was good.  She made me good breakfast.  Bop.”  (Bop is rice.)

He has been watching Wayne shave in the morning, and the other day Wayne caught him pretending to shave with his toothbrush.  (Hilarious – and messy, since it still had some toothpaste on it.)  I asked if he’d watched Appa shave.  He said, “I didn’t see it.  I wake up, I ask Omma if I can have banana, she say yes.  So I didn’t see it.”

Of course, I have no way of knowing what is true and what isn’t.  His foster mom told us he didn’t eat fruit, so I’m not sure he didn’t make up the banana story, or confuse it with his life here.  I don’t care, though, I’m just glad he is feeling comfortable enough to talk about it.

One quick update on the weight loss front: I’ve lost 5 pounds! In two weeks!  I really think cutting the artificial sweeteners was the trick for me.  I have also avoided cheese and ranch and heavy cream, but honestly, I wasn’t having tons of that before anyway.  I will probably add it back in before too long and see what happens.  But not yet.  Right now, I’m too happy with my results to mess with it.

If you’d like to read a great book about why eating less and exercising more doesn’t work, check out The Smarter Science of Slim.  I had heard about it awhile ago, but I thought it was going to be dense on the science and I wasn’t up for that.  I was totally wrong.  It’s an easy read and very helpful.  Although I don’t quite agree with his macro ratios – he recommends 33% each of carbs, protein and fat and I wouldn’t want my carbs that high or my fat that low – I think most people could benefit from taking time to read it (the Kindle version is super cheap).  Or you could watch this 12-minute video to get a good idea of what the book is about.   Eat more, exercise less – smarter.  It’s working for me!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    great post, Melanie. I have enjoyed it. I am shocked at how grown up your little ladies are. They are just gorgeous too. It is great to hear that Ben is starting to sort out and compare his long ago past with the last 7 months. He only uses 3 or so Korean words now?

  2. redkeeney says:

    the girls do look grown up!

    I’m fascinated by Ben’s adjustment; he really does seem to be doing well… and I’m no expert but I would think it’s a good thing that he’s remembering and talking more about Korea. He’s such a smart and cute little guy.

  3. redkeeney says:

    oh and I forgot to say congrats on your five pounds!

  4. Rebecca says:

    I too think it is wonderful that he is able to talk about Korea now and share some memories. It seems very healthy. The girls look beautiful.

Leave a Reply

