July 2013

A variety of pictures from the past month…

We celebrated the 4th of July at a festival downtown.  Wayne had to work, but I took the kids to celebrate. (Brave me!)  I was determined to celebrate properly, since this was Ben’s first 4th of July as an American citizen – and really his first to celebrate.  Last year we came home from Korea on July 3, so we were way too jet lagged to do anything but try to sleep.  This year we went downtown and checked out the festivities! A petting zoo, pony rides, bouncy houses, and fireworks that night.

Ben was mad that he had to take a picture when he wanted a drink, stat.

Hand clapping games helped pass the time in line for the pony rides.

Wayne was able to join us for fireworks. I caught Emma at a great moment, obviously.

Lit up palm trees look like fireworks

We’ve been spending some time at the beach and a lot of time at the pool.  We’ve had a crazy amount of rain this month, which cut down on our beach time, but Abby has joined the Navy youth swim team, which has greatly increased our pool time.  Well, it’s increased HER pool time.  It’s increased our pool deck time. 😉  She has done amazingly well and even won some races!

I’m cheating. This was earlier in the summer. But it’s at the beach!

Swimming lessons make some people a little cray-cray.

Thumbs up for the pool from Ben! He’s like a fish!

Hanging out during Abby’s swim practice

Oh yeah, and we moved.  Again.  When we got here last November, we moved into military housing, unaware that the Navy’s lease on that neighborhood was ending this October.  It seems like that should have come up while we were talking with the housing office, but alas, it did not.  So we got to move again – 8 months after initially moving here.  It’s been a lot of work, but in the end, we like the new house better anyway.

Playing house in the middle of boxes

Moving day

Wayne’s method of moving a full bookcase. I had my doubts, but it worked!

Ben posed for some pictures.

First time on skates

Hanging out at swim practice – again. And being very handsome.

He’s gone from disliking dogs to wanting them to sleep with him!

Aaaaand, I turned 40.  I know! (Are you shocked? Why, thank you!)  Forty!  It doesn’t seem possible…well, it might to my aching back… 😉

My sister took me to see Straight No Chaser as an early birthday gift.  We had a really great time, especially because we got to see them up close and personal early in the day.  You see, Robyn works for CBS Atlanta (she basically runs the place), and SNC was booked on their early show.  I drove to Atlanta the day before so we could get to the studio bright and early on the day of the concert.  We dropped by the green room and this happened:

Swoon. (We’re best friends now.)

Our friend Kate joined us for the concert that night.  She wrote about the concert on her blog – and her pictures are way better than mine, so just go check hers out. (And you really should subscribe to her blog – Kate is all kinds of awesome).

To further celebrate my birthday, my Mom came to visit!  I was busy enjoying her visit and didn’t take many pictures.  We took a couple after church.

Hey! Wayne! We’re taking the picture now!

Wayne is looking, but Ben is suddenly grumpy.

Mom and two of her daughters. (The best two.) (I’m kidding!)

We also ate at a really cool restaurant on the beach with a sand playground for the kids (and kids at heart).

And then we had a party.  My friends came over and we sang songs and ate cake.  It was so, so much fun.  It almost made me ok with being so old.  Almost.

Only 14 more months until it’s her turn!

I performed a song. Or two.

Did I mention there was cake?

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to July 2013

  1. redkeeney says:

    It was so so fun! Let’s do it again. (No need to wait 14 months.)

  2. Becky says:

    Happy 40th! It s all down hill now! Love the pictures

  3. It totally seems possible you’re 40, considering I’m 30. However, that doesn’t seem right to me. (Maybe it’s a personal perspective thing.)

  4. shirley wilmoth says:

    so much fun and so much fun to read about it and your summer time. Great blog! Miss you already.

  5. Becca says:

    I’m learning an instrument for the next music night. We’re up for having it here as well! Of course, there’s no piano… 🙂 We had so much fun!

  6. Rebecca says:

    “The best two,” huh? That was rather snarky of you! I loved seeing these pictures. It almost makes up for missing your party. . . but not quite. Abby looks like a teenager. Unreal. Also, for some reason I kept picturing her pool practices inside! It just surprised me that they were out. It is shocking that you found enough non-rainy days for her to swim that much this summer!

Leave a Reply

