Swim banquet and pool party

Abby’s swim team had an end of the season banquet, with a Hula theme.  Abby got a certificate for taking time off her events from when she started (June) to the end of the season in August.

Total time off all events

One of her friends from swim team invited us over for a pool party the following week.  Very fun! Except that we did have a scare with Ben.  He took off his flotation vest, then got out too deep and slipped away from his boogie board.  I saw him floundering and yelled for Abby (who was closer) as I raced to him.  Abby was able to keep his head out of the water until I got there.  He was scared, but fine.  For a week afterwards, he prayed every night, “Thank you, Jesus, I no drown.”

Amen.

Ben, NOT drowning

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Swim banquet and pool party

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    congratulations to you, Abby. I’m proud of you. Amen to Ben’s prayer!! Looks like they had a great time at the pool. It is so great that they can swim at their young ages.

  2. Agreement on congratulations to Abby; I simply wish it hadn’t taken me that many reads to get it. (When I read, “taking time off”, I was first thinking “vacation”.

    Also agree with the “Amen” to Ben’s prayer; I don’t recall anything from the swim lessons I took 20+ years ago, but I think not drowning is a key component.

  3. Kate says:

    Oh my goodness, poor Ben and poor Mommy! How scary is that?! I’m so sorry! And major congrats to Abby — that’s awesome! I cannot believe how grown up she is. So beautiful!

  4. redkeeney says:

    I thought the taking time off meant not being there for a second too… duh… can you tell I was never an athlete? Congrats Abby! Love Ben’s prayer.

  5. Rebecca says:

    Poor Ben. What a sweet prayer, though.

Leave a Reply

