Adoption Tax Credit: Useless

We started the adoption process in 2010, took custody in 2012, and finalized in 2013.

We’ve waited a long time to be able to claim the adoption tax credit.

Finally, this year the government would help us out by refunding almost $13,000 of our adoption expenses.  We were so ready.  We had plans.

Only…it’s not refundable.  It’s just a tax credit, which only helps those who have a tax liability.  Which we do not.

We do not benefit from the adoption tax credit.  I figured this out an hour ago and I’m still trying to breathe.

Y’all, we paid over $38,000 to adopt Ben.

(Feel free to take a moment to let that sink in.  And, if you’d like, Google the salary of an E-5 Sailor.  It’s public information.  Go ahead.)

Yeah.  We were really looking forward to that refund.  The refund that isn’t a refund.

So, our government can offer free food and healthcare and education and Lord-knows-what-else to people who don’t want to work, but for working people who choose to adopt…all they can offer is a measly tax credit that doesn’t even benefit the average worker.

Oh, but Planned Parenthood got $540.6 million in government funding last year.  I guess there wasn’t anything left over for adoptive families.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adoption Tax Credit: Useless

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    My initial reaction is disbelief. I want to ask “Are you sure?”…but I know my daughter better than that. I know you are sure. Why? Things are so backwards in so many ways that I cannot make any sense of it. I’m sorry. Yet……I want to say once again….Is there any thing that can be done or some stone to be yet turned over? This is just so wrong!

  2. tjchurch2001 says:

    Reminds me of something I saw on “Daily Show” last week about stuff like this; Showed clips of a bunch of “pundits” & the like discussing how some unemployed in some states are actually averaging-out to a ton more hourly than their state’s minimum wage is paying.

    But here’s the other side for you:

    I’ve admittedly never worked a paying job 1 hour in my life. I get money monthly from the government. That said, almost every year, I get a letter telling me the amount will go up the following year, the admitted sole reason for that being the cost of living has risen… ONE GUESS which goes up more?! (And yes, there is a HUGE discrepancy!!) Also, I never get a “tax return” on the yearly income (even though I pay taxes out of it on every purchase I make), & the government counts in their tally of “assistance” to me things like “Food Stamps” (which are incredibly limited, & can only be used on food/drink, but neither at McDs/BK/etc., which Aunt Shirley can vouch for being a ton of what I eat.)

Leave a Reply

