Easter Music

While looking for Easter-themed memory work for the girls today, I came across a good idea and thought I’d pass it along. (To all 13 of my blog readers.  I’m taking a break from Facebook for Lent so you 13 are basically the only ones I can tell. Oh well.  If you like the idea, maybe you could pass it along.)

This post suggests that we listen to Easter music the way we listen to Christmas music – to help celebrate the holiday.  I don’t know why I never thought of this!  Christmas music is played from at least Thanksgiving – but I know people who start in October – until New Year’s.  For some reason we only play/sing Easter hymns on Easter Sunday, and then put them away until next year.  Easter is my favorite holiday, so I love the idea of amping up my Easter-themed listening as part of my preparation for Easter.  (The post suggests listening straight through Eastertide, but I’m thinking of it as a way to prepare for Easter.)

So I downloaded some of the music listed in that post (and in the comments); I also found this list.  (I see some other Lent ideas on that blog that I need to go back and check out!)

I discovered some new songs and I look forward to feeding on them – on the truth they contain – in the next few weeks.  This one is already a new favorite.  And this just makes me want to sit down at the piano and sing with my sisters. (Come visit, girls?)

And the memory work I originally set out to find?  We’ll be working on this verse of the hymn Christ is Risen, Alleluia!:

Christ is risen! henceforth never
death nor hell shall us enthral;
we are Christ’s, in him for ever
we have triumphed over all;
all the doubting and dejection
of our trembling hearts have ceased.
‘Tis his day of resurrection;
let us rise and keep the feast.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easter Music

  1. Mary says:

    What a great idea! Love those songs too 🙂

  2. redkeeney says:

    That is a good idea! How come no one does that? Odd. And I like “I Will Sing of My Redeemer” – tell me we couldn’t knock out parts to that. Girls, are you on your way to Texas now? Great. I’ll get snacks.

  3. Rebecca says:

    I was already singing my part while listening! I love that arrangement. And the Matt Maher “Christ is Risen” is one of the four I picked to sing with the choir on Easter Sunday! So I guess I like it, too!

  4. shirley wilmoth says:

    just realized I had missed this one. When are we going? I’ve got my part down. (:

Leave a Reply

