In delay there lies no plenty

I love the blogs where the author just writes a little something every day.  A few thoughts, a few pictures, nothing fancy.  I aspire to be that kind of blogger.  Instead I’m the kind who thinks of posts in her head and never writes them, then finally sits down once a month to write and is overwhelmed by so many pictures and thoughts that she just dashes off a few photos for the fam and calls it good.

If I could get up significantly earlier than my children do I think I could pull it off.  But once I get up, the dogs come running, and they wake everyone up. (Wretched things.)  I could probably also manage this regular blogging thing if I were a night owl, but once the kids go to bed at 8, I’m too exhausted to bother.

So now I sit in a rare moment of silence – Wayne took the girls to swim practice and Ben is out playing – and I have a crazy grab bag of topics in my head.  I am still Facebook-free.  I have some thoughts about that.  I ran a race last Saturday and would like to tell you more about that. (Spoiler alert: it was awesome!)  We’ve made a decision for our family that simultaneously makes me happy and stresses me out. (Not a big decision.  Don’t get too excited.)  We went to the beach, Ben started t-ball, Robyn came to visit…and I’m always thinking I should post more pictures of Ben for his foster mom to see.

Well, I suppose I could just start with the oldest topic.  Robyn made her Christmas visit in February.  (Don’t worry.  I got her a calendar for Christmas.)  Actually, she was moving and our house was almost on her way, so she was just consolidating travel.  We went to the Mardi Gras parade while she was here.

We got a decent spot along the parade route, with a swell view of this guy:

Horse head. I do not know what this signifies.

Robyn caught a moon pie and ate it because she was getting hungry.  It was her first moon pie, so I took a picture.

She said it was just okay.

This guy stood next to us and used his net to grab beads from children.  I gave him many, many dirty looks which did not seem to faze him at all.  Seriously, who does that?

Bead stealer. Thief of children’s joy.

Robyn and I took turns holding Ben, since we were behind several people and he had a hard time seeing the floats.

Over here! Throw me something!

Obligatory sister picture.  (Hey Robyn, are you that much shorter than I am, or were you scrunched down for some reason?)

 

Mardi Gras beads!

Aaand that’s all for tonight.  Until next time, I shall continue to write posts in my head and procrastinate about writing them.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In delay there lies no plenty

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    I understand. I write all the time in my head and it never gets on paper……..or almost never. Sometimes it ends up on people’s blogs. oh dear. I’ve enjoyed this and will watch for more.

  2. loveandkate says:

    LOVE this! I loved your captions for every photo! Hilarious. And I’m so relating to you on the blog procrastination. So hard right now for some reason!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Okay, can we address this post title? “Then come kiss me, sweet and twenty. Youth’s a stuff will not endure.” I loved “O Mistress Mine.” I think I know the not-too-huge family decision, based on our texting the other day.

  4. tjchurch2001 says:

    I was looking late last night for some other writing I’d done months ago, & found a notebook filled with just-about nothing but old blogs I had clearly handwritten first. (I wish I could still access the ones I’d posted on the old Xanga.)

    Also, I share the feeling of a character I watched on TV tonight, who was upset at being told her cover ID was “a professional blogger?!”

    That said, I myself may not have “Tweeted” in over a day, & couldn’t care less; I am more about quality than quantity. (Makes one wonder… Me, at least… Why I have never had a true paying job as anything.)

    Anyhow, that all said, LOVE the photos. (Don’t get enough updates from Mom’s post-conversation talks.) Outside of perhaps the one of the bead-stealer… Say what you will, but I got hit by stuff like that at a concert years ago, & it HURTS! Perhaps the person was not robbing, but protecting, the children. Surely the mother in you would appreciate that!

  5. redkeeney says:

    I want to know the family decision. And I think I am just a little bit shorter than you… looks like I was scrunching. Maybe I was cold.

Leave a Reply

