Christmas in July

Our school stuff came today! The girls pretended great disinterest, but I told them I know they’ll be sneaking off to flip through all the books while I’m in the shower or otherwise away. 😉  (This earned me a great deal of “Mo-o-o-o-m”-ing and rolling eyes.)

It really is a LOT of stuff.  Lots of workbooks.  Lots of teacher guides for me to get familiar with.  Just in looking over it this afternoon, I was impressed by the “recitations” for the 3rd grade level, so I went back and bought the kindergarten and 1st grade recitation lesson plans to use with Ben.  I hadn’t planned to buy anything for him; I have everything from the girls, but I decided to start him on this memory work so he’s ready to be folded into the whole system after this year.  Assuming it goes well, which, obviously, I am.

Oh and I re-activated my Facebook account.  A whole 5 days away.  I imagine someone in the Facebook kingdom laughing an evil laugh: “We knew you’d be back! You can’t live without us!”  I think it’s clear that I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook.  It’s so loud that I often want out.  I read a blog post this week where someone was saying that Facebook is the loudest place on the internet for her; I totally agree.  But…my church has a group page for information, I just joined the Memoria Press group and I had questions to ask there, I do like hearing from a few people, and besides all that, my sister’s work phone is hilarious!  So I logged back in (cue evil laughing at FBHQ) but I took people out of my feed right and left.  I basically kicked most people out.  If I want to know something about them, I can go to their page and get all caught up, but hopefully this will be less information smacking me in the face.

Just for fun, I’d like to show you the face of a boy who wants spaghetti for breakfast.  He’s saying, “Pleeeeeease??”

I couldn’t resist the cuteness.

And now I must go look at my pretty teacher guides some more.  And probably start studying Latin.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas in July

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    If I were there, I’d be looking into those books and eating spaghetti with that cute little guy.

  2. jenhamrick says:

    Look at all the pretty new books!!! I for one would definitely be flipping through while you weren’t looking. 🙂
    What curriculum did you buy?

Leave a Reply

