Birthday Eve

I made it through another day of single parenting.  It hasn’t been too bad, but there’s just no break.  It’s me and them, 24/7.  Actually, the girls spent the night with a friend last night, so that was sort of a break.  Ben talks my ear off, but at least there was no fighting.  At breakfast this morning, he said, “It’s so quiet when the girls aren’t here because me and Emma don’t have to fight.”  As though it couldn’t be helped when they’re together.

I worked on the laundry room aka Emma’s school desk this afternoon.

Before:

It had pretty much become a catch-all over the past few weeks and it was driving me crazy.

After:

Much better.  The poor girl has to learn next to the dryer and the mop.  So sad.  Maybe someday I’ll have an actual school room.

Ben gave me this tonight and said, “Happy Birthday, Mommy! I made you a crazy banana!”  Oooooookay then.

My birthday is actually tomorrow, but I decided to start celebrating a day early.  How else was I going to get the children to eat the peppers in the stuffed peppers I made for dinner? So I bought these two desserts, because one just didn’t seem enough.

I’m very fancy. Obviously.

We had a brief but super loud thunderstorm earlier tonight.  I looked at the weather on my phone and got this sad news:

Passing time at the beach or the pool is really helpful when you’re a single parent.  Looks like we’ll have to find alternate plans next week.

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Eve

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    pretty good crazy banana! Those desserts look pretty good too. Happy pre-birthday celebration.

  2. jenhamrick says:

    Happy birthday! I hope you’re having a nice day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

