A Kind Friend, Austen, Puzzles and No Stress Chess

Today was a much better day.  First of all, THANK YOU SO MUCH to the kind person who sent me a Barnes and Noble gift card.  I’m pretty sure it was someone who read my pitiful whining last night, but it was just signed “a friend” so I may never know for sure.  It was such a sweet and thoughtful thing to do.  Thank you, friend.

The day was pretty relaxing.  We went for pizza after church, then I read while the kids played with friends around the neighborhood.  I started re-reading Sense and Sensibility last night, to cheer myself up, and it actually worked. Jane Austen is ever entertaining.

It poured rain for awhile, and after it stopped, a new neighbor came over to introduce herself.  She has a son Ben’s age and he came in to play for a little while.  They seemed nice.  (And she’s from Ohio!)

Then Emma asked me to play No Stress Chess with her.  I had heard about it from someone with younger children (close to Ben’s age), and they loved it, so I bought it for our kids for Christmas.  Well, Wayne knows how to play chess, so he played the game with Emma, but he tried to actually teach her instead of playing the game the “no stress” way.  Let me tell you, there was stress.  I believe there were tears.  So the game went away and didn’t come out again until today.  Guess what?  If you follow the instructions, it’s really fun! And no one cries! It’s actually sort of addicting.  We played probably 8 games or so.  Abby played one, too.

See? No stress!

Remember that rain storm I mentioned?  At some point Ben decided to play in the mud.  The explanation wasn’t all that clear, something about washing off the mud in a puddle?  He was sooo gross.  Also?  Mad at me for taking this picture.

Boy. This kid is a BOY.

I worked on our current puzzle a little, too, while trying to listen to a sermon.  With the constant kid traffic in my kitchen, I had to give up on the sermon, but I did make some progress on the puzzle.  Ben helped for awhile.  He’s really good at puzzles.

Our first tv-free week was really great.  I’m loving it!  After the first day, the kids stopped asking to watch.  I have so enjoyed the quiet.  (I mean, it’s not exactly quiet around here, but at least we don’t have to hear the Disney sarcasm, one-liners and laugh track.  Those shows are dumber than dumb.)  At night I read.  When you take away the temptation to sit and stare at the tv, you find that you actually aren’t too tired to read. (Or blog!) The kids have done craft projects, played Monopoly, read more books, worked on the puzzle, played outside, and generally used their time much more constructively.  I wonder if we could ban tv permanently?  Dare to dream…

So tonight I made Ramen for Ben’s dinner, and as I went to move it from the counter to the table, the very hot, very full bowl slipped from my hands and went crashing to the floor.  It went everywhere.  EVERYWHERE.  This picture does not begin to do justice to the actual situation.

So it was a good thing I’d had a relaxing, happy day up to that point.  If that had happened yesterday, I’m sure I’d have cried and screamed and lost my mind.  As it was, I managed to keep calm and just clean it up.  And then start over making another package of Ramen, which Ben started asking about approximately .35 seconds after the bowl hit the floor. 🙂

My friends at Barton Cottage await.  Good night.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Kind Friend, Austen, Puzzles and No Stress Chess

  1. loveandkate says:

    Oh! You have a great and sweet friend! What a wonderful, thoughtful gift. I’m so sorry yesterday was a bummer. 😦 I wished I lived near you! But, I am thrilled to hear about the TV thing going so well! That’s great. And I am very happy today was a better day. Hope tomorrow is even better! (Maybe ramen-crash-free…) LOVELOVELOVE.

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    I’m so glad about all of the good things of today for you. Sounds like, as you say, a better day for sure. Emma certainly proves it is a no-stress game by the look on her face. Where in Ohio ??
    Bet you had to send that “mad at you” little puzzle maker right to the shower!

  3. tjchurch2001 says:

    This/That is definitely the kind of day I could use about now, or around my birthday. (I don’t think we’ve ever had mud on my birthday, but can’t be sure due to all the snow!)

    It’s been quite some time since I read Austen (never, honestly) or any of the so-called “classics”. That said, I did buy my own copy of “Catcher In The Rye”, which I then read during my Study Halls Senior Year. (Only read from the Lit textbook in “Home Instruction”.)

  4. Rebecca says:

    I re-read books to cheer myself up, too. I can’t be sad while reading Anne of Green Gables. She has been a true friend. I’m glad you had a better day!

Leave a Reply

