Missoula Children’s Theater: Aladdin

This week the girls had the great opportunity to be a part of a production of Aladdin with the Missoula Children’s Theater.  Basically, the directors come into town and hold auditions on Monday morning, announcing the cast at the end of auditions. They rehearse all week, and perform the show on Saturday evening.  My girls did a similar production when we lived in Georgia, which they loved, so they were really excited to hear about the chance to do it again here.

Happily, everyone who auditioned was cast (yay!) and the girls spent the week learning the show.  Emma was a vagabond, and Abby was part of the Cave of Wonders – specifically, the Not-So-Great Pyramid.  (These shows are written to be done in a week and to include lots of kids, but boy are they cheesy!  It’s probably a blessing that lots of the kids are not quite loud enough to be heard. :-))

The show was very fun and both of my girls did a great job!  It was too bad Wayne had to miss it, but I was sending him pictures during the show and he got to talk to them afterwards, of course.  (We’ve been using Google Hangouts to video chat and that’s been really helpful.  The kids connect with him more when they can see him than they do in a regular phone call.)

(I did the best I could with pictures, but I just had my phone and no flash photography was permitted during the show.)

Abby was NOT thrilled about her costume.  It was mostly plain brown, with the pyramid headpiece. The headpiece kept sliding forward on her face.  She said she asked the directors to help her put it on, and they kept saying, “Not yet!” and then when it was time for the show to start and she asked again, they said, “Why did you wait until now to ask us?!”  Sometimes you can’t win!

Emma was a vagabond.  I thought their costumes were really cute!  She had a huge smile on her face the whole time!  She was sick yesterday, so I was worried that she might not be able to perform, but thankfully she felt a lot better today.

Such a fun experience for them (especially during a really rainy week)!

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Missoula Children’s Theater: Aladdin

  1. tjchurch2001 says:

    Looks cool!

    I can’t help but think of another person I know… She directed me in the last play I did (SO many years ago now!), & her husband played the lead. She just blogged she found out she’s pregnant again (her 5th), so I commented, asking her when she’s going to start casting shows starring only her family.

    I have the urge to ask you the same question… Or are you more in the mind frame of starting a band? (I did mention the Von Trapps to her in the comment!)

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    I’m so glad they had that opportunity. they look very happy …both girls …in all the pictures. I’m sure it was fun and each time on stage they get a little more experience.

  3. redkeeney says:

    How fun! I wish I could have been there to see it!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Adorable pictures!

Leave a Reply

