Back to School, Scheduling, and a Returning Sailor

It’s almost time to start school again, and I am so ready! We’ve had our books for several weeks, and I’ve spent a good bit of time looking over it all, and over it again, and again.  We bought a few things – loose leaf paper, spiral notebooks, new boxes of crayons. It’s lovely to just buy the things you want instead of wandering around store after store looking for a long list of specific things.  I thought we’d ease into a morning schedule this week by having Morning Time at 8:00 every day.  Yeah, that happened Monday.  The horrible truth is: it all hangs on me. If I get up early, we start on time.  If I linger in bed, we do not. The End.

I’ve been thinking about how to schedule our school year – I don’t really want to follow the government school schedule, but the kids like to be off when their friends are off.  Not a terribly compelling reason, but I do have to choose my battles.  There’s not much that I want to do the way “other people” (in general) do things.  Do I want to battle over schedule?  Maybe.  I like the idea of 6 weeks on/1 week off, year round.  And maybe the whole month of July off.  That’s kind of where I’m starting the year, anyway.  I was talking about that just today and then tonight I was reading a book about homeschooling (BTW that’s the last time I buy a book written by a blogger ever again – EVER.  A bunch of blog posts plopped together do not a book make. Certainly not one worth $8.) and the author  referred to the 6/1 schedule as a “Sabbath schedule.”  I like that! (Still wasn’t worth it!)  Apparently, though, that’s a thing.  A lot of people do that. Maybe I will join those people.

Happy news today: My favorite person is coming home a week early!  Two more sleeps til he returns.  Ben said he can’t wait to go fishing with daddy.  Emma said she can’t wait to start training for the triathlon with him.  Abby said she can’t wait to watch movies.

Despite that little comment, I would say our tv-free month was wonderful.  It was easier than I thought it would be, and I bet the kids missed it less than they expected to.  I have ideas about continuing to displace tv with better things and I’m pretty sure I’m going to outlaw all Disney shows in one fell swoop. Not all tv is bad, anymore than all books are good, but I feel confident in stating that all Disney sitcoms are worthless.  Our children really do imitate the things we set before them.

And on that note, I’m off to read some more. 🙂

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to School, Scheduling, and a Returning Sailor

  1. tjchurch2001 says:

    I can see how a TV-free time would be beneficial (not that I’m planning on trying it any time soon, of course). That said, I find (maybe I started this myself years ago) a lot of friends & family (Mom included) like to discuss shows I/we watch, so it adds to my social-interaction time & s-I abilities.

    On the other hand, I know school is starting up son for everyone, which I recall (from after I graduated) means less activity on some of the message boards I visit, &/but also less chance afternoon movies will be sold-out if I show up last-minute… I guess there’s ups & downs for it all; Eh?

  2. redkeeney says:

    Yay for school supplies! Becca and I were just saying how much we love them, and we wondered if you do as well? I can’t recall.
    I hope there are posts about triathlon training. I am looking forward to those.

  3. shirley wilmoth says:

    I’m pleased that the lack of tv in your house has gone well. Our house, as you grew up, is a testimony to the good things that come with that. I’m happy that in only 2 more sleeps your sailor will come home. Yes, please let’s have updates as school begins, triathlon training begins and even some good movie watching and fishing takes place. I am going to Columbus and I’ll send updates from there as well.

  4. Rebecca says:

    I agree about those Disney shows! I’m glad your favorite person is home.

Leave a Reply

