Week in Review – Week of December 1

I didn’t keep any notes this week.  It was an exhausting week.  I survived.  Here’s some of the stuff that happened:

1. Emma started orthodontics.

Monday we had an orthodontist appointment first thing in the morning – Emma got spacers.  It took about 4 minutes.  While we were out and across town, I wanted to look for an Advent wreath, since I have big plans for doing regular Advent readings this year.  Because we don’t have enough going on.  Anyway.  There are two Christian bookstores located on the same road as – and very near to – the ortho, so I thought we’d pop in.  Only of course they weren’t open yet and we waited around awhile and then looked in Hobby Lobby – but they only have them for crafty people who can assemble them, which is clearly not me.  So then back to the bookstore, where they had them for about twice what I wanted to pay, so I gave up and drove home.  We can do the readings without lighting the candles.  Maybe I’ll find one on sale after Christmas and have it next year.  Anyway, Ben likes going to the orthodontist.  They have a whole video game area.

We went back on Thursday to get Emma fitted for her expander.  Not sure why that had to be two separate appointments, but ours is not to question why.  The expander appointment is in two weeks and then the real fun will begin.

2. I went to the doctor.  Again.

I do not go to the doctor often, thankfully. But the real reason I had that dermatologist appointment a couple of weeks ago was to investigate these yellow bumps that appeared near my eyes, sometime at the end of summer.  They kind of look like foundation, not properly rubbed in.  Wait, I took a fabulous super-duper close up of the corners of my eyes just to show you.  Upper and lower lids, on either side of the nose.  See?

I have found out that they are xanthelasma, fatty deposits which often are a sign of high cholesterol and possible heart disease.  Which seemed strange since I have no other indicators of that.  Sure enough, my lab numbers came back fine.  My doctor seemed to have no other interest in figuring out why I have fatty yellow deposits on my face.  Surely that indicates something?  Regular doc said to ask the dermatologist.  Fabulous.  I’m caught in the circle.  Apparently I have to figure it out myself.  I asked for a thyroid panel, since I read hypothyroid people often have xanthelsma.  We’ll see.

3. I watched Baby L. two and a half days this week.  I love having a baby to snuggle with, but I do wish she’d let me put her down sometimes.  Putting her in the playpen makes her furious.  I’m hoping to find a swing or a walker or something that she might be happier in.  She’s not a big fan of Wayne, either, so he has made it his mission to bring her around.  They had a few happy moments together one day at lunch, so I took a picture.

4. We found a new violin teacher.  We’ve been with our current teacher for about a year and a half, and she’s very nice, and we like her a lot, but she’s more of a fiddle player than a classical violinist.  She doesn’t have teacher training.  And as the girls get more advanced, I keep worrying that they’re missing stuff.  So I found a teacher who has all 3 degrees in violin (and viola!) performance and we did a trial lesson with him this week.  He confirmed my suspicions.  Abby should have been learning shifting and vibrato by this time.  In fact, he said Emma should be starting vibrato.  Abby may have to go back and re-learn some things from the book she just finished.  Better now than later, I say.  And both girls had been getting sloppy in their bow holds.  The new teacher is more expensive, but I think he’ll be worth it.  We’re also moving from 30 minute lessons to 45 minute lessons for both of them.  BUT we’re quitting homeschool strings, so there’s that.  The girls don’t like it and we just have enough going on.  They’ll do the Christmas concerts and then we’ll quit.

5. We did do school, I just didn’t keep any records of what we did.  Just about everything on the lesson plans, though.  Ben made some progress in reading words with long vowel sounds.  We’re still reading Hans Brinker – only a few chapters left.  I’m over it, but I need closure, so I’m droning on to the end.  I dropped Shakespeare during Advent so we have time to do the Handel’s Messiah Advent study.  I dropped the morning hymn, too, much as I’d like to sing Christmas carols all month long.  I am trying to listen to morning and evening prayers on my own (here), but evening is easier to fit in than morning.  I wanted to do a brief Advent reading and prayer with the family every evening, too, but…  Y’all. There are only so many hours in the day.  We’ve only done it once.  Stupid swim team eating up our evenings.

6. Speaking of swim team, this weekend is basically over.  The girls have a swim meet.  Warmups are at 7:30 a.m. and the pool is almost an hour from us.  We’ll be there til around 4:30 both days.  I made everyone clean house this afternoon because there’ll be no time for anything but swim this weekend.  Wayne’s office had a family party tonight at one of those jumpy places, and since 1. He knew I was dreading it, and 2. He’s that sweet, he took the kids to the party and let me stay home alone.  Thus I get a much needed evening of peace and quiet.  Time to blog and time to read.  (I just started a book about a 48-year-old man who goes back to school to take a Great Books course. Good so far!)  And probably…time to make and eat cookies.  My own personal Christmas party.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week in Review – Week of December 1

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    I’m confused as to where to comment having now two parallel screens each asking for my comment. Anyway that’s a very nice picture of Wayne on his mission. Also a very nice picture of Ben enjoying a visit to the orthodontist office. I hope you are enjoying your quiet evening at home alone. Wonder what was in the “Great Books” course. hm

  2. redkeeney says:

    Your evening sounds lovely… and a lot like mine. Too bad we aren’t having our parties together.

  3. jenhamrick says:

    Merry early Christmas to YOU!! Enjoy those cookies! 🙂

  4. tjchurch2001 says:

    1] I wasn’t sure why the expander thing had to be 2 appointments either… Then, I read on, & realized that was just the fitting for it, not getting the actual expander! Just betting it will all be “expanded” into more appointments after she gets it! (Solely guessing here, of course; Had 2 teeth pulled over 20 years ago @ 2 separate appointments, & my jaw wired shut for a month years after that.)

    2] I’m curious about the “fatty deposit” situation… Not hugely, but I’ve got some kind of dermatology issue myself (on my head; wondering if it’s in fact related to neurology issues), so that makes me wonder. Also, if you can find it, look for the song Johnathan Schaech (lead singer in “That Thing You Do”) wrote for Christina Applegate when they were dating & she had a skin issue… I think yours might fit, & make things more fun.

    3] While I’m in that frame of mind (it’s my area of specialized knowledge you can’t find in textbooks), also look for things on/by Felicia Day… Is actress (“Dr. Horrible…Blog”, “Supernatural”, etc.), producer, & so on… Also: She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin as a double major with Bachelor’s degrees in Mathematics & Violin Performance; Is a professional-level violinist; Is an excellent violin player and has been playing since she was two; & Was valedictorian of her class in college.

  5. Rebecca says:

    That IS a demanding swim weekend! And a crazy busy week in front of it. I knew most of these things but enjoyed reading them anyway, because you wrote about them in such amusing fashion. Hope you enjoyed your evening of serenity.

  6. Anne says:

    Me too. All of it. Except the details obviously.

Leave a Reply

