Christmas

I had really ambitious plans for blogging over Christmas break.  Obviously, none of that happened.  In my defense, I was very busy reading. 😉 That was one of the things I wanted to blog about, but alas.

We had a small, quiet Christmas this year, which is just the way I like it.  Since the kids don’t really play with toys anymore, and I hate shopping, and token gifts, and the stress of it all, we decided to just do stockings this year.  And it was perfect. The kids each got three gifts from us, plus candy and hot chocolate and junk like that.  And I think they were content.  Of course, they also got stuff from their aunts and grandparents, which helped, and we also did some fun family activities, which we billed as part of their gifts.  We somehow managed to avoid playing Dirty Santa this year, or going to any sort of event where you are required to bring a $5 gift, or a $10 gift, or God forbid, a gag gift.  Avoided entirely.  A Christmas miracle.

Here’s some of the stuff that happened, in no particular order…

We went bowling. We ate dinner at the bowling alley and then played a game.  The employees told Abby she was too old to use the bumpers, which ruined her game and made her angry.  But it was otherwise a fun night.

Oh, we also had big plans for surprising the kids with these activities and writing creative riddles or puzzles to make them figure out what we were going to do.  That happened exactly once.  Wayne, after roughly 30 seconds of thought, came up with this gem:

The girls played in a Christmas violin recital – their last one with that teacher.  We start with the new teacher tomorrow!

We made Christmas cookies with friends.

Emma decorated more than anyone else. My creative girl.

We took a blurry family picture by the Christmas tree at church on Christmas Eve.

My sister Robyn came to visit. I guess I didn’t take a lot of pictures, but I did get this one.  (Sorry, Rob.)

We went to see Into the Woods, which we loved.

We went to see the lights at Bellingrath Gardens on the day after Christmas.  I’d heard amazing things.  Maybe I’d heard too many amazing things, and they just couldn’t compare with my expectations.  They were nice, but I’m not sure they were “drive over an hour and spend over $100 nice” if ya know what I mean.  The best ones were on the water, where there was a mirror reflection.  (See the swans?)

Some of us did a fair amount of fishing.

 

And now I’m ready to go back to routine, back to school and violin lessons and maybe even swim team. I’m on the fence there. 😉

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas

  1. jenhamrick says:

    What a nice break! I missed your blogging. 🙂
    What did you read? I’m always interested in what you are reading. 🙂

  2. redkeeney says:

    thanks for posting the shot where I look my best! 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    Sounds like a good Christmas! I hadn’t realized it until I read your post, but we also managed to avoid buying any 5 or 10 dollar or gag gifts. Thank goodness! I have about as much patience as Dad did for that kind of thing, and I guess you do, too. Robyn’s mask is lovely – did Ben create that for her?

Leave a Reply

