The Books of 2014

About this time last year, someone recommended that I keep track of my reading on Goodreads. I had a Goodreads account then, but I’d hardly used it.  But for whatever reason, I decided to start using it in 2014.  And I’m so glad I did!

I saw that Goodreads had a challenge where you set a numeric goal for the year.  I tend to read a lot of educational philosophy and theology, and since those can take awhile to get through, I decided that I might not read a book a week, and very cautiously chose 30 for my goal.

And then I read 84 books!

I’m kinda proud. I mean, that makes me feel pretty accomplished.

I did read a fair amount of children’s fiction.  Some of it was not long or difficult, so it’s not like I read 84 philosophy books or anything.  But still…I really enjoyed keeping track of my reading.  Goodreads is social media for nerds. 🙂 I wish more of my friends were on there. (Hint, hint.)

Goodreads gave me a tally page of all the books I read…can you see it if I link?  My 2014 Challenge Books  At one point I thought there was a widget, but I don’t see it now.

Some highlights…

1. I wanted to read more fiction in 2014, since, as I said, I lean towards non-fiction.  And I definitely did that.  I finished the Narnia series for the first time. (And then immediately started re-reading them, using the audio book versions.)  I also read the entire Lord of the Rings series for the first time.  I read a lot of children’s fiction; some I read to my kids and some I pre-read over the summer, intending one of them to read it in the fall.  I blew through The Dark is Rising series in no time, mostly while Wayne was in Texas. (Still trying to get Abby to read it.)  I got in some “grown up fiction” (“adult fiction” sounds like, um, something else) too – Jayber Crow, What Alice Forgot, The Great Gatsby, The Three Musketeers.

(If you’re wondering, I read a lot in high school – we didn’t have a tv – but I read complete fluffy garbage. My mom called them “Johnny loves Susie books.”  Not trashy in content, but not quality reading, either.  It was kind of my zone-out time between school and work or piano or church or homework. So I have a lot of catching up to do with regard to classics.)

2. I hoped to read more history and biographies, but I didn’t do too much of that.  I did – finally – finish Susan Wise Bauer’s History of the Medieval World.  I read two interesting books about the Reformation. I did read the Metaxas biography of William Wilberforce.

3. Of course, there were books about education.  The Latin-Centered Curriculum and Climbing Parnassus helped me sort out some priorities in our homeschool.  Beauty in the Word and Norms and Nobilities were, unfortunately, not as meaningful to me as I wanted them to be. They get such high billing from the classical crowd.  I suppose I have to grow more as a person before I can appreciate them. 🙂  The Book Whisperer encouraged me during the February doldrums.

Goals for 2015

I bought quite a few new books with Christmas gift money, and it’s hard not to plunge into them all at once.  I’m actually reading 7 books right now. I know.  I just want to Read All The Books.  Like, this week.  I keep having to remind myself that I plan to live another 50 years at least and that should give me time to read quite a few of them.

My goal for this year, actually, is to read more slowly.  I tend to blow through books and then forget what I read.  I decided to start a Commonplace Book this year, hoping that will help me remember important things about what I’ve read.  (See this post about reading slowly and keeping a Commonplace – or just check out the Wiki article.) I’m sure I’ll still read plenty of children’s fiction – I am homeschooling, after all – but I also want to read more classics, and take time to think about what I’m reading.

Currently reading:

1 and 2) How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth, along with How to Read the Bible Book by Book, along with…the Bible.  I’m planning to follow a two-year plan for reading through the Bible, again, hoping to take more time and think about what I’m reading.

3) Imagining the Kingdom: How Worship Works — this will be slow going whether I like it or not. Very dense.

4) The Man Who Knew Too Much – short stories by Chesterton. Accessible and delightful writing.

5) The Liberal Arts Tradition: A Philosophy of Christian Classical Education

6) The Adventures of Robin Hood – okay, haven’t touched this since the break, but I’m reading it with Abby for her lit assignment.

7) America: The Last Best Hope, Volume 1 – This has been on my list for awhile, and I picked it up at the library yesterday. It’s actually really interesting, and I can see it taking over my reading time for awhile.  It’s okay, I planned to read those other books slowly. 😉  We’re focusing on early American history in our school work this spring, so I thought it would be a good time for me to dig in as well.

If you have a Goodreads account and we’re not friends, friend me! I love to see what other people are reading!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Books of 2014

  1. loveandkate says:

    I have an account, but don’t use it too much — but maybe I’ll start! I have What Alice Forgot waiting for me in my kindle right now! I’m a total fiction reader…so maybe I should add in some non- fiction. You’re inspiring me!

  2. jenhamrick says:

    Yay! I always love to know what you’re reading (since I’m still a reader in my head, if not in reality).
    I signed up for Goodreads… But I haven’t used it. Maybe I’ll start. 🙂

  3. shirley wilmoth says:

    goodreads….I decided yesterday to write down the books I read this year….maybe I should join all of you on goodreads instead of keeping a sheet of paper list! Hey, what did Alice forget?

  4. redkeeney says:

    that’s a lot of books! I picked up two this weekend and read one immediately. Perhaps I should keep a list also. Maybe it will inspire me to branch out of true crime and or crime fiction.

  5. Rebecca says:

    84 books! I feel like such a loser now! Very inspiring.

  6. jenhamrick says:

    I don’t know how to find people on Goodreads, but this is the link I’m supposed to give people so they can find me: https://www.goodreads.com/friend/i?i=LTM1OTU2NTk5MjY6NDAz

Leave a Reply

