Learning Notes – Week of February 2

Monday

I decided the state of the girls’ room was so bad that it was worth starting school late, so I stuck to my guns and made them clean clean clean.  It took until 10:00, but we finally found their floor, even that part under their beds.  Moved on to piano lessons for all 3.  I had them read: Emma finished The Courage of Sarah Noble and read a chapter of Charlotte’s Web.  Abby finished The Last Battle.

(Her: I finished the book.

Me: Further up and further in! Wasn’t it great? Didn’t you LOVE the ending? Wasn’t it cool to see the characters all come back?  Further up and further in!!!

Her: Yeah. You’re scaring me.)

Assigned new reading: The Matchlock Gun for Emma.  Black Beauty and Johnny Tremain for Abby.

By then it was time for lunch.  After that, we did the Christian Studies lesson about the plagues of Egypt.  I had them watch their Latin lessons.  One thing we’ve definitely noticed: the lessons for Abby’s class are much shorter than the lessons for Emma’s class.  Abby’s teacher is male; Emma’s teacher is female.  (And LOVES to talk about derivatives.)

I read Let’s Go for a Drive! and Should I Share My Ice Cream? to Ben. He read a bunch of the ice cream one to me, which was pretty exciting for both of us.  Also read the Kroll book about Groundhog Day to everyone.

Went to violin lessons and then hung out at the library until time for group strings.  Wayne met us there and picked up Ben so he didn’t have to hang out during group strings.  Ok, that was more for me than for him.

Tuesday

MT – We sang The Church’s One Foundation, read Ephesians 5, read the lesson in THTM, Prayer, MP Recitation weeks 18-19.  Picture books: The Duckling Wants a Cookie?! and The Rainbow Fish.  Went over the new history card about the forming of the 13 Colonies. Listened to the (Veritas Press) song and read the back of the card and a chapter from the Hakim book (From Colonies to Country).  Started a new Shakespeare passage: passage 10 in the Ludwig book. Worked on Declaration memorization on the whiteboard. I read aloud the first 2 chapters of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. (Sarah at Amongst Lovely Things named it as her favorite family read aloud, so I decided to give it a try.)

(I’ve been sitting down after MT and making notes of what we read and worked on, but I don’t do that at the end of the day. Thus, many details about our morning and sparse recollections of the rest of the day.  I assume this one carried on like all the others.)

Wednesday

Best not to speak of Wednesday.  MT fail.  Rest of the day got better.

Thursday

MT – Hymn, Prayers, Ephesians 5 (the girls read), THTM, recitation weeks 17-19.  Picture books: I Love My New Toy! and What’s in Fox’s Sack?  History read aloud: You Wouldn’t Want to be an American Colonist.  Listened to the history song and read the current card aloud.  One chapter of Wizard of Oz.

Ben did a handwriting page.

His handwriting has gotten so much better in the past few months.  The lesson in the phonics book was review, but included two good-sized paragraphs, which was hard work for him. I had him do a math review page instead of a full new lesson, which made him very happy and gave us time to read more books.  I read Edwina, the Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She was Extinct, The Carrot Seed, and Watch Me Throw the Ball.  Can you tell we’re obsessed with Mo Willems?

A little lunch time chess game broke out.  I am amazed at how this version of the game has taught them the names of the pieces and how to move them.  Sometimes they play without the cards.  I can’t swear that they play with complete accuracy, but I think they’ve got a good beginning idea of it.

We skipped homeschool strings because I promised the girls they could go to an extra swim team practice this week (swim meet this weekend) and I just didn’t want to do both things back to back.

Friday

Hymn, Prayer, Ephesians 5, THTM, recitation weeks 15-19.  Read alouds: The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins and a book about St. Valentine, plus one chapter of Wizard of Oz.  Latin tests, grammar, a history lesson and worksheet, instrument practice.  I like to take it easy on Fridays.  The baby I watch had an ear infection and stayed home, so that made it a pretty easy and peaceful day.

My Reading/Listening/Stuff

Strong Poison, by Dorothy Sayers – My first Lord Peter mystery.  I very much enjoyed the writing style, but I guessed “who dunnit” on page 12, so that was a bummer.

Imagining the Kingdom – I managed a few pages. It’s. So. Meta.  I just want him to get past the philosophy that I don’t understand and get to the part where he applies it to worship.  The first book in this series was rough, but I could follow if I squinted hard and blocked out the rest of the world.  This one…he has lost me completely.  And yet I soldier on.

America: The Last Best Hope – Finished it.  There are, I think, 2 more books in the series, and I plan to read them, but in the meantime I came across this cool video of David McCullough talking about how to teach history.  I thought it was great, googled him, found out he’d written some books about American history, and got one from the library the next day.

John Adams, by David McCullough – I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read so far.  Also, I keep singing songs from 1776.  (Especially this one.)

Still reading the Bible, by the way. I just forget to note it here.  I’m reading How to Read the Bible Book by Book along with the plan, and How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth.  But those are a slow 2 year plan, so I probably won’t mention it all the time.  I like both books.

I listened a little to some Circe talks.  I like to save them for my runs, but, sad news: I hurt my knee and haven’t been able to run this week.  I’m pretty sure it’s an IT band issue.  My race is about 5 weeks away so I’m very concerned.  I tried the elliptical on Thursday night, but my knee hurt the whole time so I gave up after 15 minutes.  Today I took a short walk – just walking – and my knee hurts.  😦

Spent a large portion of the weekend at a swim meet.

More learning notes at The Wine Dark Sea link-up.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Learning Notes – Week of February 2

  1. redkeeney says:

    I want to read about the dinosaur who didn’t know she was extinct. That one sounds cute. Love Ben’s smile in the chess picture.

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    I’ve enjoyed as always. Took me a while to get to this one. I love that there is a chess game at lunch. Sure hope your knee heals up soon. I’ve got to get to Dorothy Sayers.

Leave a Reply

