Learning Notes – Week of March 2

I didn’t keep notes this week, but I thought I’d post a little about our week anyway.

On Monday we did piano lessons and violin lessons and group strings.  The rest of the week we had our regular Morning Time.  We sang Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus and read from John.  We worked on memorizing the catechism question/answer about what God’s Providence specifically did for man whom he had created.  We read more Wizard of Oz and almost finished it.  I’m trying to decide what to read next.  Our history card this week was about how “Parliament acted unjustly” – in other words, the Stamp Act, the Sugar Act, the Intolerable Acts, and the Boston Tea Party.

Ben read a couple of Dr. Seuss books to me.

It was very exciting to hear him read something other than the phonics text or a Bob book.  I remember this stage with the girls.  This is where I back off from the phonics text a little and get them reading real books.  To that end…I bought a bunch of early readers for him.  Actually, I bought the Sonlight first grade language arts core.  Did you hear that? I actually bought something from Sonlight!

Approximately three times a year I spend about a week gazing longingly at the Sonlight website, dreaming of Reading All The Books.  And then I decide that it won’t fit all my kids for one reason or another, so I move on.  This week I had an epiphany: they don’t all need to do the same thing.  Ahem.  I knew that.  I just didn’t take it into consideration when planning!  It hit me that it might work better to keep Abby with Memoria Press – she likes it, it’s a good fit, she works well independently – and put the other two in a Sonlight Core together.  I always think of putting the girls together for some reason, and it hadn’t occurred to me before to group the younger two!  The more I thought about it, the more I liked the idea.  So I started thinking about putting Ben and Emma in Core B/C for next year.  But I have read a lot of reviews of Sonlight claiming that their language arts is weak.  If that turns out to be the case, I can always supplement with stuff I have.  Anyway, I decided to try it out.  Ben needs readers on his level to increase his fluency, and if he’s going to do grade 2 readers with the B/C core next year, I figured I should try out the grade 1 readers and language arts now.  If I hate it, I’ll know not to order the full core for both kids!  This gives me time to try it out with a smaller investment.

Ben and I read most of the third book in the My Father’s Dragon series: The Dragons of Blueland.  A few nights we had something going on late and I didn’t read to him at bedtime, but he always complained about that and made sure that I read to him the next morning. 🙂  I’m trying to decide what we’ll read next, too.

Ben drew the dragon, and did a great job, but I seem to have misplaced his drawing.  Emma had to try it as well.

I started doing math with Emma this week, which turned out to be a great thing.  I cut MT a little short and took time to do her math lesson with her immediately after that – reading the lesson and sitting there while she did all the problems.  It really made a world of difference.  I feel guilty for not doing that sooner.  It really improved her whole day to have her math done first thing.  She’s just not ready to do it alone and I should have realized that.

Both girls finished their literature books.  We discussed every chapter using the lit guides, so I decided against doing the final tests that are in the book.  No need to kill the book.  🙂  Emma is still listening to The Cricket in Times Square; Abby is still reading Black Beauty and Johnny Tremain.

Veritas Press is having their big sale on self-paced courses ($99 instead of $199), so I signed Abby up for a history course for next year.  As a matter of fact, if you’re thinking about signing up for one…use this link and I’ll get $10 back! 🙂  You can delay the start date to early September.  I think the sale goes through this week.

More guilt free learning notes at the link up.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Learning Notes – Week of March 2

  1. jenhamrick says:

    Ooh, it’s about that time of year, isn’t it? I can’t wait to plan our curriculum now that I’m not choosing completely blindly! 🙂
    Ben is adorable! So fun to read “real” books!

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    just heard “Tis so Sweet” by Casting Crowns this week with a lot of violin in it and thought of the girls. Sounds like it was a week of good progress even though you didn’t take notes. Who drew the dragon?

  3. redkeeney says:

    Love the pics — tell Em that’s a really good dragon!!

  4. shirley wilmoth says:

    wow that really IS a good dragon!

  5. Melanie says:

    So exciting that he’s jumped to Dr Seuss. I love the dragon picture.

Leave a Reply

