Highlights from March, April and May

Ben’s reading is getting better and better. I bought the Sonlight Language Arts B for him, and while I hate the LA lesson plans (way too much going on, and especially too much writing), the readers are perfect for him.

I have used some of the LA to start a little spelling with him.  He likes to write his words on the whiteboard.

In March the girls played at the local Sonata Competition.  It was our first time to participate, so we didn’t know what to expect.  Abby won Level 4 and Emma won level 3! It was very exciting.

Towards the end of March I took a little trip with my sister.  We went to Biloxi, but we didn’t gamble. We mostly read. And talked.  But mostly read.  🙂  We stayed here:

I had this ridiculous cupcake.  (I took a picture of it because it was so ridiculous.)

I have no good pictures of the two of us.  Just the cupcake.  (Priorities.)

The homeschool band/strings group played at the Gulfarium at the end of March.  Emma was sooo excited.  She thought they were going to play for the dolphins.  They actually played for people, but we did get to see the dolphins.

I caught Ben “shooting” the girls.  Just because.

In April we took a long weekend trip to Louisiana.  We were planning to go to a Navy retreat, but when we got the schedule we saw that it was nearly all classes and almost no free time.  I’m sooo glad we got that schedule in time to get out of it!  We found a cool, unique place to stay about an hour north of New Orleans.  It was an apartment over a barn.  The kids LOVED it.  They got to “help” feed the horses every day.  We spent one day exploring New Orleans and just hung around the property the rest of the time.

We had to get beignets at Cafe du Monde.

Emma got braces at the beginning of May.

I can’t believe how much her teeth have moved already!

The true highlight of the past few months, for me, was getting to play for a concert.  Stephen and Juliette Trafton came to give a concert and I got to play for the whole thing!  It was so. much. fun.  Sometimes it’s nice to confirm that I can do more than laundry and dishes. (This photo by Kate Treick.  I stole it from Facebook but wanted to credit her. 🙂 Wayne didn’t take any of the three of us.)

mel with traftons

There was a homeschool band/strings concert.  And Abby had a solo!  She was awesome.

Ben had his first swim lesson.  He’s got more coming up in June.  They’ve been super hard to schedule, but we’re going to get him to pass that swim test yet this summer!  No more spending the whole summer in the “baby” part of the pool.

The girls played in their teacher’s studio recital.  Great performances by both!  (Although the recital itself was insanely long.)

I got a decent picture after church on Mother’s Day.

And that takes us just about up to the present!

I started a fitness plan 5 weeks ago and am actually seeing results.  Not on the scale so much, but in inches lost.  The first three weeks were really hard – I’m talking, “sometimes just throwing myself across the bed to cry” hard – but then I started seeing results and that’s been encouraging.  I’m eating clean and lifting heavy and it’s finally starting to pay off.  I’m taking regular progress pictures, but I’m not ready to share them here.  Not that you’re asking me to. 🙂

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Highlights from March, April and May

  1. Robyn says:

    Hey I made the update! Wish I could have come to the farm too. Looks like my kind of place.

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    I’ve very much enjoyed all of this. There is just too much for me to comment on other than to say I love it all and all of you and am thankful that you post these so I can hear what you are all doing and see current photos too.

  3. Glad to see everyone’s doing so well (improving in reading, winning stuff, etc.)

    Sorry to say not so great up here, frankly… Pool was supposed to open today, but water still looks “dirty” (Ma’s word), & yellow tape around it (but inside the fence). Also, I seem to be losing weight (2 docs this week, so we’ll see if they notice).

    I misread that hotel as the “Beau Bridges” the first time. (Watched his late Dad on “Seinfeld” recently, so that may have influenced me.) Also, have no clue what that Cafe Du Monde food is (pronunciation or anything)… 2 years of Spanish, 1 of Latin, & a French Enrichment class at the old Turner school, & none of it taught me food & other words I can use!

  4. Rebecca says:

    I enjoyed this, even though I knew most of it! The girls look so nice in their black dresses for the homeschool band/strings concert!

Leave a Reply

