7 Quick Takes

I can’t seem to summon the energy to blog anymore, so here’s my first ever 7 Quick Takes. I don’t know what the rules are, other than a general grouping of 7 thoughts.

1. The kids went to music camp in July. They had fun.  I helped with the beginner class and ended the week with what I like to call Beginning Band PTSD. It was a lot of people time for this INTJ.  Ben was technically too young, but got to go (had to go) because I was helping.

Painting like Michelangelo

2. The girls went to camp last week.  Sleep-away camp.  I hate not being able to contact them at all for a whole week!  I know my mom had to do that all the time when I was growing up – obviously, since there were no cell phones.  Maybe it’s worse now that we’re used to constant contact. Anyway, they had a good time and didn’t get hurt or anything, for which I prayed fervently and often.

3. Speaking of constant contact — I’ve deactivated my Facebook account twice in the last month.  Somewhat because of this article, somewhat because my FB feed makes me feel overwhelmed with information coming at me at the speed of light, plus now the news feed settings are annoying and impossible to fix the way I want them.  Then I reactivate my account and am confronted with ridiculous arguments about vaccination and I want to dump the whole thing again.  I guess I will keep my account open but just avoid logging in very often. There are people I enjoy hearing from, but the stupid stuff seems crazy hard to avoid.  I wish I had a better solution.

4. I’ve been getting ready for school.  And by “getting ready” I mean changing my mind a zillion times about the few things I haven’t nailed down yet.  I bought a bunch of stuff from Memoria Press back in the spring, but left some things undecided.  I am currently determined that Ben will do mostly Ambleside year 1, Emma will do some Memoria Press and some Ambleside year 3, and Abby will do almost all Memoria Press advanced 6th grade.  (Only “advanced” because they changed the curriculum and we’re on the “old” track, which they’re calling “advanced.”)  I should probably do a separate post about curriculum.  Not that anyone cares, but it might help me think it all through and then NOT CHANGE MY MIND.

5. I started reading Charlotte Mason’s education series this week.  People have said to start with volume 6, the last one, so that’s what I did.  It’s better than I expected.  It’s quite inspiring, all this talk of raising children who love to learn, love to read, life-long learners, atmosphere of learning, la la la.  And then I walk out of my room in the morning and am confronted with children who grumble when I ask them to read for an hour, grumble about listening to an audio book in the car, grumble basically when they’re asked to do anything beyond lying in their beds watching YouTube on their iPods.  I’m obviously a huge failure in that I cannot properly inspire my children to love learning.  They hate  the entire life I’m trying so hard to give them.  All I know to do is keep trying and also to drink copious amounts of Diet Coke.  It might not help them but it does make me feel better.

6. Today was our last lesson with our violin teacher. That would be our 3rd teacher in the 2.5 years we’ve lived here.  I feel like I’m going to get a reputation amongst the violinists in the area as “that impossible stage mom.”  We started with such a wonderful teacher, such an incredible group, I guess we got spoiled from the start.  The girls have been asking to quit violin, Abby in particular, so I told them we will take a month off from lessons and see.  I think the problem was their dislike of the teacher.  Maybe the problem is me, again, and my inability to inspire my children to enjoy anything that’s good for them.  Although Emma did eat green beans last night, so there’s a glimmer.

7. We haven’t gone to the beach too much this summer. It’s been super hot, I mean like dwelling on the surface of the sun hot.  You northerners think you know but you can’t possibly know.  Anyway, I did drag everyone out of the house on Sunday afternoon and we had a pretty good time.

I know I’m biased, but isn’t she beautiful?

Wayne caught this crab and took it home and ate it. The rest of us were sort of freaked out by transporting a live crab home in a bucket, but Wayne insisted.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 7 Quick Takes

  1. I have nothing personal against Wayne (of course; see you all so little), but I think that insistence was just a bit shell-fish! (Sorry! I had to!!)

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    I am not sure if the 7 quick takes is your creation or it is a new blog for you and others to use and you are supposed to have 7 points to it. hm Ben is looking older and sure is handsome and tanned. Abby is gorgeous…and also looking so much older. Goodness. I can’t wait to see you all. ……except the crab. mom

  3. shirley wilmoth says:

    also I’m so glad the girls had a good week at camp. I was praying fervently and often with you.

  4. jenhamrick says:

    Ooh, I am NOT ready for the sleep-away camp thing!
    I vote in favor of a separate post about curriculum. 🙂

  5. loveandkate says:

    I loved this update!! I especially love, “Although Emma did eat green beans last night, so there’s a glimmer.” LOVE.

  6. redkeeney says:

    Abby is gorgeous and growing up too fast. y’all stop that right now!

Leave a Reply

