School Plans for 2015-2016

I’ve been agonizing over these decisions for a solid 4-5 months.  From time to time I remind myself that it doesn’t really matter, for example, which history period my 6-almost-7-year old studies this year. Just pick one!  Choose something and do it!  But I read so many homeschool blogs and there are so many good options…and of course, all those lovely books I want to read.  But I think I’ve basically decided what we’ll do. (Dang you, indecision!)

Of course, then I read a post like this –  Melissa Wiley’s plans for her two youngest – and wonder how she makes it all sound so simple?  Of course.  We’ll just read some books and do some math and play some games.  Exactly. How simple.  I don’t know why things are so much more complicated inside my head.

So without any further ado, my plans for this year.

Morning Time (done together) will include memory work (a poem or speech and a passage of scripture for each month), Shakespeare (continuing in our How to Teach Your Children Shakespeare book), singing hymns and folk songs, and learning a little music history and maybe even theory.  I plan to separate read aloud time from MT this year – two shorter group times instead of one long one.  We’ll see how that goes.

We also joined a co-op.  I know.  Me, in a co-op?  I don’t like to leave the house unless it’s to go to the library.  Or maybe out for ice cream.  But my kids need people.  I suppose I do, too, but I like to imagine that I don’t.  At any rate, we’ll be going to co-op two Thursdays a month, where I will work in the nursery with my good friend Natalie, and my kids will scamper off to learn things from people who aren’t me.

Abby – 6th grade

Second Form Latin, Memoria Press, taken as an online course (I am not able to keep up with the Latin grammar well enough to feel confident teaching this.)

Saxon Math 8/7 (I was previously planning to do Pre-Algebra, but then I read that Saxon has re-done their upper sequences and now 8/7 is the way to go, with Algebra I following.  Pre-Algebra is now optional.)

Spelling Power (Our first year using this.)

Rod and Staff English 6 for grammar and composition

Greek Alphabet, Memoria Press (They take a full year to learn just the alphabet before going into the grammar. She’s interested because of the Percy Jackson series.)

Book of Trees and Exploring Biology, Memoria Press

Famous Men of Greece, Memoria Press (done once a week)

Literature from Memoria Press accelerated 6th grade, which includes The Trojan War, The Bronze Bow, Anne of Green Gables, and The Hobbit.  She also will have a “free reading” list – free in the sense that she won’t have to do any workbook pages or reports on these titles.  I’ve taken most of it from Ambleside Online Year 5 free reads list.

Vocab from Classical Roots – recommended in The Well-Trained Mind, so we’ll add it a couple of days a week.

History – self-paced online class from Veritas Press (1815-modern), plus some reading I’ll assign.  Definitely will be reading Abraham Lincoln’s World, as I’ve been pre-reading it and think it will be very helpful in understanding that period of time.  I may read it aloud to both girls.

Art and World Cultures at co-op

Emma – 4th grade

First Form Latin, Memoria Press

Saxon Math 6/5

Spelling Power

First Language Lessons (Grammar – we’ll finish book 3 and go into book 4)

Writing with Ease (Composition – we’ll start where we left off and carry on)

History – same as Abby

Science – Book of Insects, Memoria Press

Literature – Pulling mostly from Ambleside Online Year 3 titles.  That year’s history doesn’t fit where we are in history, but I plan to read aloud as many of the other titles as I can, and assign the free reads to her as well.  I didn’t order lit workbooks for her; I plan to have her narrate, Charlotte Mason-style.  I’m thinking about doing a full AO curriculum next year so this is me dipping my toes into the water, so to speak.

Famous Men of Rome (to be done once a week)

Art and World Cultures at co-op

Ben – 1st grade

Saxon Math 2

First Language Lessons 1

Finishing his phonics book – The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading – and he’ll read lots of early readers to me

Copywork/Handwriting

I plan to do most of Ambleside Online Year 1 with him.  I’m looking forward to all the great books we will read together!

Art and World Cultures at co-op

 

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to School Plans for 2015-2016

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    sounds very good and very busy! Have you been to the store for new notebooks of many colors and new things to write with? Love those notebooks with all those white pages looking so clean and empty!

    • waymel says:

      We didn’t actually use all the paper I bought last year! I might get a few spiral notebooks while they’re on sale. And scissors. Scissors always disappear at my house!

  2. jenhamrick says:

    Yay!!! It’s school time!!!
    Thank you for sharing what you’ve chosen!

  3. redkeeney says:

    wow – sounds like a lot! And let me just think about the empty notebooks and fresh pens for a moment. mmmmmmmm…..

Leave a Reply

