I’m back

So. I have a blog.

I didn’t post for awhile because of my frustrating photo issues.  But once you don’t post for awhile, the idea of posting becomes overwhelming and so gets easier to avoid.  And I still have no idea what the deal is with the photo issues.

Life has been flying along.

Two children have had birthdays since I last posted. Ben turned 7. He celebrated by choosing the food for all the meals, and going to the beach.  Abby turned 12 (!) and celebrated with a day at the fair with her best friend (and Wayne and Ben).

I took a trip to Missouri – alone – for my 20th college reunion. It was great fun and a needed break from parenting.

I quit Diet Coke – again.  (My name is Melanie and it’s been 3 days since my last Diet Coke.) Maybe this time it will stick. I’m  drinking coffee or tea for the caffeine, and mixing seltzer water and low-calorie juice for that tasty , bubbly, cold drink that I crave.

We bought some weights and got them set up in the garage, so I’ve been working out before the rest of my people get up. No visible changes yet, but slow and steady is supposed to win the race.

I threw off some homeschool burdens that I’d put on myself (trying to combine several curriculum options and follow All the Reading Lists in the Entire Universe) and am sticking to the parts I like best (Memoria Press FTW!).  And I figured out my obsession with Sonlight: every time I was having a hard day, I would start moving (mentally) that way.  I finally realized it was because when I am having a hard school day, I just want to Read All the Books.  That’s all.  That always sounds easier than whatever else I’m trying to do.  Once I realized that, I could let go of the Sonlight idea.  We can take a break and read (or do whatever) when we need to.  It doesn’t require a curriculum change! Whew!

We found a Suzuki violin teacher at long last – but she’s 50 minutes away, so she’s agreed to do 2 lessons a month.  We’ve only had one lesson so far, but I was pleased.

I’ve been dealing with some frustrations, but I don’t have answers and therefore not much to share without sounding whiny.  I have all these expectations for myself – things I want to be and do and accomplish – and I am not meeting those expectations.  Some of it seems like a self-perpetuating cycle, a troublesome spinning wheel that I can’t seem to stop.  Sometimes I think it would help if I just had someone to talk to; the introvert + military life combo isn’t ideal for making close friends.   Or, I can just make more lists and try harder.  And read more books.  Maybe I’ll find away to blog about the stuff in my head in some sort of helpful manner.

And maybe I can get my WordPress/Google photo issues figured out.

Stay tuned.

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m back

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    glad to see you are back. I had spacing issues with this and had to keep scrolling to the right and back to the left to see the next line. ugh Probably me…not your post

  2. jenhamrick says:

    You’re back! You’re back! I’ve missed you and the stories of your people!

  3. Tim Church says:

    I honestly don’t know the last time I blogged about anything. Learned some people I never met (nor want to) were reading my blog, so I made it “Private”, & now I even need to sign-in to post anything on it.

    Ironically enough, seems the people that I thought would care about things in my life/mind I might have blogged about don’t, so I only use PC to get media, & open my mouth for breathing. I’m sure either of the above commenters will let you know when that all stops.

  4. Kimberly says:

    I enjoy your blog, too! =)
    I definitely understand what you mean about military life and making friends… just as one is solidifying what could be a great relationship, bam, it’s time to move and start over.

  5. loveandkate says:

    “But once you don’t post for awhile, the idea of posting becomes overwhelming and so gets easier to avoid.” This is SO ME!! (But I LOVE your updates, so please overwhelm yourself to please me.)

Leave a Reply

