Hi, Hedgehog

Meet Wanda.  Wait. I mean, Nyx.

nyx20the20hedgehog

Who is Nyx, you ask?  Oh, well, she’s the hedgehog that my husband got for our kids without consulting me.

I am just as thrilled as you are imagining me to be.

Her previous owner, who works with Wayne, named her Wanda.  My girls decided to rename her.  Having studied Greek Myths, they decided they wanted to name her after a god or goddess.  Brief internet research revealed that Nyx is the name of the goddess of the night.  Or the moon.  Something to do with her nocturnal nature, at any rate.  Nyx it is.

Nyx is 4 months old and we are her third owners.  The first owner, we are told, was a little girl who decided she’d rather have a snake.  Wayne’s co-worker took her on next, but decided he didn’t have time to tame her.  (Nyx, not the little girl.)  And so she’s come to live at our house.  In my daughters’ room.

I no longer go in their room.

Did you know that hedgehogs eat cat food?

Also, if they are scared they will hiss at you in a very alarming fashion.

But that was yesterday.  A disappointing beginning, but never fear.  Today, I am told, Nyx sniffed – or possibly licked – Abby’s hand.  This of course proves that Nyx will someday be quite tame and amusing, like all those other hedgehogs on YouTube.

Y’all.  We have a hedgehog.  In our house.  On purpose.

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hi, Hedgehog

  1. loveandkate says:

    I had no idea you could even have a pet hedgehog! Ha ha! Ohmygoodness, it IS really cute. So…yay? 😉

  2. redkeeney says:

    I kinda liked Wanda better. But… I didn’t know you had to tame it. I announced it to my coworkers and one is quite confused why you didn’t name her Sonic, which is apparently the best name ever for a hedgehog. I just offer it for your polite consideration.

  3. shirley wilmoth says:

    she/he looks scary to me to be completely honest. I’ll will have to go to google and learn about it.

Leave a Reply

