My Year in Books – 2015

In 2015, I read 90 books. That’s 8 more than I read in 2014.

Here are my stats from Goodreads for 2015.  I think it’s funny that the most popular book I read (The Hunger Games) was one of my least favorites.  Deplorable writing.  So bad.  And the least favorite was really interesting and well-written, by Thomas Howard, a literature professor.

Some of my favorites of 2015:

41c9wlqnnbl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Laddie – I loved, loved this book.  It’s like Little House on the Prairie or Anne of Green Gables but BETTER.  That’s right, I said it’s better.

 

 

41zpuyssonl-_sx299_bo1204203200_The Chosen – I thought this book was fascinating, particularly the education style described, and the way their community was set apart from the rest of the world.  Reminds me of the discussion about the Benedict Option.

 

 

41swkovqfol-_sx331_bo1204203200_The Man Who was Thursday – This book was sort of freaky and extremely awesome. One I will definitely have to re-read.

 

 

517oiyvrndlJohn Adams – A huge biography that was fascinating and compelling.  Truly.  I read a biography of Teddy Roosevelt by the same author, but didn’t like it as well.  I bought several other books by David McCullough and look forward to reading them this year.

 

51pe50dwv-lThe Wee Free Men (and others in series) – This was my first introduction to Terry Pratchett.  Very funny, enjoyable, light reading.

 

 

61iflqhkpcl-_sx313_bo1204203200_Brideshead Revisited – I like books about old money and the lifestyles of a glamorous British upper class.  The characters were well-written and interesting.

 

 

51pxqcrcx0lHarry Potter – I feel like I have to include this here.  I finally started reading the Harry Potter books.  Yes, for the first time.  Abby read them all starting several years ago, but Emma is reading them now and I keep hearing references to the books in lectures or sermons or articles.  It’s become an assumed knowledge, I think.  So I read the first 4 in 2015.  I don’t think they’ll be my favorites or anything, but the stories are good and I’m glad to finally understand some cultural references.  Mostly I’m glad to be able to discuss them with my girls.

5135rriskslThe Wolves of Willoughby Chase – This was a recent read aloud with the kids and we all really enjoyed it.

 

 

 

I set my 2016 goal at 100 books.  What did you read and love last year?  What do you plan to read this year?

 

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Year in Books – 2015

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    You are so inspiring. I need to come back here with pen in hand and see if I can find some of these books on Amazon. ( go me!) I am proud yet a little not so to disclose that in 2015 I read 25 books. Most of mine probably would not make the top 10 or 20 but there were several that I consider phenomenal. Some were “just for fun” and some caused me to grow in many ways. Thanks Melanie for getting me started and now, the first day of 2016, I’m rushing the starting gate and promise to do more.

  2. jenhamrick says:

    Goodreads won’t show me my year in books. If it did, it would probably say that I wanted to read 50. I started and abandoned 20. And I actually finished 5. Or thereabouts.
    Sigh.
    At any rate, I love knowing what you’re reading! And I love Goodreads. Even if it makes me look like a big fat quitter. 😀

  3. Sarah Kesterson says:

    I’m amazed at the amount of books you read! Thanks for your list. I’ve read several already, but now I have more to add to my to-read list in goodreads. I managed 26. I think this year, I’m going to challenge myself to read more nonfiction. I generally a fiction girl, with some nonfiction thrown in here and there. Two if my favorites this year: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (fiction) and Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson (nonfiction). I’ve also been part of a book club in my neighborhood. It’s been a great way to get to know people and also read books I may not have read on my own.

  4. Tim Church says:

    I have no clue how many I read, & I might never know what I read at any specific time!

    However, I do know I kept a steady mix going of fiction & non-fiction… I read the memoir of Felicia Day (I know a lot of my relatives are involved in homeschooling, & she writes a lot about her experiences as a child of that), & while I remain uninterested in “Fault In Our Stars” & (off-&-on) “Paper Towns”, I read “An Abundance Of Katherines” by the same author, & am praying they make a movie of that one!!!

  5. Rebecca says:

    Better than Anne of Green Gables? It takes some hubris to make that claim. I’ve been wanting to read “Laddie” since you told me about it, actually. This year I especially enjoyed “Bleak House,” the John Adams autobiography as well, and the Lord Peter Wimsey books by Dorothy Sayers. Oh, and the real Peter Pan was a nice surprise!

Leave a Reply

