The Year of the Podcast

These days, as I take a walk, or make dinner, or wash the dishes, or do other mindless work around the house, I am usually listening to a podcast.  I am subscribed to about 20, though I don’t listen to all of them regularly.  Here are some of my favorites:

The Briefing by Al Mohler.  This is a daily (M-F) discussion of current news from a Christian worldview.  I listen to this every morning.

Circe Institute – Circe has gone podcast crazy this year.  They have 4-5 different podcasts going now.  Some I like better than others, but anyone interested in classical education and/or classic literature should check it out.

Cultivating the Kingdom and The Straight Stick by Allison Burr – These have slightly different purposes, but Allison is all about applying the gospel to everything we do as mothers and wives.  She loves theology as much as I do (maybe more!) and I always learn something from listening to these podcasts.

Cultivating the Lovely by MacKenzie Monroe – Honestly? MacKenzie is younger than I am, and has younger kids, and talks about things foreign to me, like creative Bible journaling and “the planner community” — but for some reason I keep listening to her. I guess that means I like her despite our differences.

Renewing Your Mind with R.C. Sproul – Daily sermons.  I listen to one of these almost every day.  Solid, biblical teaching.

The Chase – Remember the old Sesame Street song: Which of these things is not like the others?  Ok, this podcast isn’t about classical ed or theology, but it’s my boys Straight No Chaser and that’s good enough for me.

What Should I Read Next? by Anne Bogel (Modern Mrs. Darcy) – A podcast about books.  Many of the books discussed are more modern, which is not my preference, but still…a podcast all about books?  I’m in.

5 Minutes in Church History – Have 5 minutes left in your walk? Listen to this and learn a little something! Short and sweet but interesting.

I’m sure you Apple people can subscribe to these through iTunes.  I use an app called Podcast Republic.

Are you a podcast fan?  What are your favorites?

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Year of the Podcast

  1. jenhamrick says:

    Thanks! I’m always looking for new stuff to listen to. I listen to NPR’s Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me while I wash dishes. 🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    Wow! I really have no idea how you do all the things you do. I don’t listen to podcasts, basically, ever. I always mean to, but then just don’t. Last year when the kids were in school and over the summer, I heard maybe three or four.

    • waymel says:

      Ha, I don’t do half of what I want to do! But these podcasts…I’m just intentional about listening while I’m doing housework or getting ready in the morning.

Leave a Reply

