Orlando Vacation

As this is our last year in Florida, we decided to take one more trip to Orlando. But this time, no Disney.

We spent three days in the two parks at Universal, and one day at Legoland.  Wayne and the girls also went to Sea World one day, using the nifty free military offer.

I am not a theme park person (so much noise! so many people! so many horrible, fast, terrifying rides!) so I basically go along to facilitate the fun for others.

For example, I carry things that can’t be brought on rides.  I remind people to reapply sunscreen.  I entertain children who are not quite tall enough to ride certain rides, or who are afraid to ride other rides.  I do the Mom Things.

Occasionally, I might split an enormous and wildly overpriced cupcake with one of those children.

Or take a picture of a child with a sign that perfectly sums up his view on meals.

Or with these characters.

I did enjoy seeing Harry Potter World, which was our main reason for going to Universal in the first place.  Diagon Alley was amazing – they created a world that felt completely different.  Riding Hogwarts Express between the two parks was fun, too.

Wands at Ollivander’s

Butter beer is delicious, and the food at The Leaky Cauldron was the best I had in the parks.

Legoland was a fairly relaxed day.  The park is on the smaller side (although there’s still plenty to do) and geared for younger kids.  Emma even got brave and rode some “big” rides by the end of the day.

We took one day of rest during the week.  We went to the resort pool, played cards, went to a park, and cooked dinner at the condo.  The park turned out to be a good call — the kids played on the playground for a bit, then we fed the various birds and took a walk around the lake.  Wayne had the birds eating out of his hands!

It was a nice vacation, even though I’d never choose to go to a theme park on my own.  It’s okay, though, I’m going to a conference this summer and that will be my vacation!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orlando Vacation

  1. Robyn Keeney says:

    Big props to you for making it through! (and I rhyme!) I enjoyed the photos.

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    It looks like you all had a good time. I see lots of smiles in those photos. They sure show how the littles are growing up….not so little anymore. Thanks for taking the time to share.

Leave a Reply

