Weight Loss Success – At Last!

If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, or spoken to me in person very often, you know that I have been on a quest to lose weight for many years.  Weight that was gained slowly, a couple of pounds a year, over time.  So the amount I wanted to lose grew every year.  Along with my frustration.

I tried various versions of body-building diets, like Body for Life.  Too restrictive.  When meals are only matter-of-fact and never fun, I get very, very grumpy. And then I eat ice cream.

I tried low carb, and stuck with it for a long time, almost two years.  At the end of the two years I weighed more than when I’d started.  I enjoyed eating all that bacon and cheese, but I did not lose weight.

I tried Slim Fast. I tried Volumetrics. I counted calories and macros.  I tried a Whole30 – for one day.  (Worst. Diet. Ever.)  All restrictive, all felt like punishment, all unsustainable and thus unsuccessful.

Last December I bought a Fitbit and started the Every Other Day Diet.  Since then I’ve lost 12 pounds. 

us_cover-big

The Every Other Day Diet sounds like a joke, I know.  I mentioned it in a comment on Instagram once and someone thought I was kidding.

There is a book, but here’s the gist of it: It’s a two day cycle.  On one day, you only eat 500 calories.  The next day, you eat whatever you want.  The end.

It’s really that simple.  No special recipes to follow or shakes to buy.  No foods are off limits on the feast day.  Just stick to 500 calories on the diet day. That’s it.

The reason it works for me is that it’s sustainable.  All those other diets I tried?  I lost a few pounds on some, but they never lasted long.  Because willpower, man.  I can’t handle restriction for very long.

With the EODD, the restriction only lasts for one day at a time.  I can deny myself for one day, knowing that nothing is off limits tomorrow.

In my quest to lose weight, I have also tried numerous workout plans.  Bought books. Paid for plans from fitness celebrities.  You know what I’m doing now?

Walking.

My Fitbit tracks my steps.  I aim for 10,000 steps each day.  Knowing whether or not I’m on track to meet my goal has been very motivating.  Most days, I head out for a walk around our neighborhood after we finish school.

And that’s it. Twelve pounds, y’all.  Two jeans sizes.

We do have a weight bench and weights in the garage, and I am trying to get out there and lift, but I haven’t been consistent about it.  In order to lose more weight (I’d like to lose 20 total), I know I will have to push the intensity of my workouts.  I’m planning to kick it up with some gym classes and more lifting once we finish our school year.

If you would like to drop some weight, I recommend trying this diet.  Sometimes simple is best.  Let me know if you have questions about it!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weight Loss Success – At Last!

  1. jenhamrick says:

    That’s awesome!
    It does sound like a joke… But it also sounds totally reasonable. Who can’t skip the ice cream knowing you can have some (as much as you want!) tomorrow? 😀

  2. tjchurch2001 says:

    I gotta admit I don’t think I can do it, mainly b/c I’d wake up & forget which day I was on.
    On a side-note, I also must admit I’ve known you my entire life & didn’t know you were trying to lose (probably b/c I avoid those conversations, since I am on the exact-opposite quest).

  3. Rebecca says:

    Justin is always impressed with your walking amounts! I’m glad you’ve found something that works for you.

  4. Robyn Keeney says:

    The idea does sound funny to me, but I’m glad it’s working for you! I think the key is what you’re doing on your “feast” days…just eating what you want, but not shoveling food in. Then you’re def at a caloric deficit overall, as opposed to some who might try to “make up” for the 500 calorie day by eating everything sight on the feast day.
    Congrats on your success!

    • waymel says:

      Actually the author has been running scientific trials on that for over a decade, and people (and mice!) do not over eat on the feast days. They eat maybe 125% of their normal calories, but not 200%. So there’s a deficit overall.

      • tjchurch2001 says:

        Even over such a long span/period of time, I gotta figure that’s one of those generalizations… Why all the weight-loss ads on TV say stuff like, “Results not typical” or “may not apply to everybody”.

Leave a Reply

