Morning Reads

Although I’d often heard the advice that reading the Bible in the morning is best, I have generally been an evening reader.  This year I switched to an early morning devotional time – and whaddya know?  They were right:  I’m much more consistent.  I get up at 5:00, head to the kitchen and push the button on the Keurig, light a candle, fix my coffee (with chocolate and a generous amount of cream), and sit down to read my morning books.

morning20devo20books

(This picture makes me think of the hilarious Babylon Bee article: Woman Completes Quiet Time Without Instagramming It. I promise I don’t take pictures of this regularly.)

First, I read the Bible. I started a two-year Bible reading plan on January 1st of last year.  I have started many one-year plans, but I would always get behind and eventually give up.  I realized that it would be better to follow a slower plan and complete it, so I started Genesis once again.

And last week I finished the Old Testament!

starting20nt

It’s been many years since I read the entire Old Testament, and honestly even then it was mostly running my eyes across the words so I could check a box saying I’d read it.  This time I’m reading less each day, plus using How To Read the Bible Book by Book to help with explanations and structural understanding.  The study notes in my ESV Study Bible are also useful.

My second morning book is a study of Romans by R.C. Sproul.  Spending so many months in the Old Testament made me want to study a New Testament book.  It’s an expositional commentary, easy to read but very good.  I generally read a chapter each day.

 

 

 

The third morning book (and yes I always read them in this order) is The Great Tradition, a collection of readings about classical education.  I bought this book several years ago, read a little, got overwhelmed by its size and the authors I didn’t know, and put it on the shelf.  Then I heard the advice – somewhere! – to work on big goals in 15 minute increments.  Fifteen minutes.  Easy. So I’m working my way through this book in 15 minutes a day.

 

 

And last, I open my Systematic Theology book and read it for 15 minutes.  It is organized in outline form, which makes it easy to take notes.  Brief notes, nothing extensive.  I thought it might help me remember more of what I’m reading.

For more nerdy fun, I write in cursive when I take those notes…I’d given up cursive for print a long, long time ago, but in teaching my children to write in cursive, and requiring them to do their schoolwork in cursive, I realized that I should get back in the habit myself.

By that time my youngest has usually woken up and wandered into the kitchen to inquire about breakfast.  But that hour and 15-30 minutes is precious.  I love starting my day with quiet, intellectual pursuits.

Do you get up early to do something you love?

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Morning Reads

  1. shirley wilmoth says:

    I confess that it is the thought of a cup of coffee that makes me push back the blankets around sevenish. I generally take my pill (awakens my thyroid for me) and make my bed and brush my teeth, get dressed and grab my Bible and head for my truck. I go to mcdonalds and sit in the truck and read my Bible and spend some time in prayer. Sometimes I listen to Moody Radio for part of the time also. It is a very precious time….always. In years past when I tried to read just before bed, I did what you say, Melanie, and just read so I could check it off. It definitely works better for me to read in the morning. I generally read lighter stuff in the evening hours.

  2. tjchurch2001 says:

    When I was younger (just after high school), I found myself waking @ 10 every morning to watch the same show, check my blood-sugar, & have the same Breakfast. (No joke: Jen’s dog walked alongside me the whole time.) Nowadays, my alarm clock is set to wake me up at the exact-same minute(s, since I have 2 on the same clock) every day, but I’m starting to do it less-often unless I have a doctor’s appointment or something else I can’t miss.

  3. jenhamrick says:

    We’re not morning people these days. I’m working on it. 😉

  4. Holly says:

    I’ve always loved starting my day with quiet and some kind of thoughtful input, before the crowds & craziness get going. I love seeing your lineup – gives me ideas to tackle the things I want to learn!

  5. Robyn Keeney says:

    You get so much done before I wake up! I can’t stand mornings so much. I always read at night. I even shower at night. Mornings are for throwing on clothes and brushing teeth. 🙂 In the middle of the night my power went out, and this morning I woke up when my boss called me. At 10am. Was dead to the world before that.

  6. Rebecca says:

    “For more nerdy fun,” lol. No, I don’t get up early to do anything. I just stumble out and start the day. I always plan to get up early and do so many things, but then. . . I just don’t. I’m a loser.

  7. Pingback: Wednesday with Words | waymel

Leave a Reply

