Summer Plans

When you homeschool, it’s hard to find time to pursue your own interests during the school year.  School, dinner, guitar lesson or soccer practice, and the day is over. I get up early to study, and I read in the evenings, but I want to do so many other things and there’s just no time.

So when we come to the end of the school year, and summer is on the horizon, I start getting excited about all the things I can learn and accomplish with my new-found free time.  As ideas pop into my brain, I optimistically think, “I’ll do that this summer!”  For example, right now I’m looking forward to…

Reading Shakespeare – I read a little Shakespeare in high school, but that was a long, long time ago. The girls memorized some passages from How To Teach Your Children Shakespeare over the past 2 school years, and that was fun and inspiring. I recently decided that I should be working my way through the Shakespeare canon, little by little. Wouldn’t it be excellent to have that beautiful language in my ear on a regular basis? I’ve listened to a couple of the plays this weekend, and a couple of lectures, but clearly, summer is the time for me to study it all.

Memorizing long passages of scripture – I heard Stephen Trafton perform Ephesians a few weeks ago.  It was so inspiring.  Since then I’ve been thinking about memorizing a long passage – maybe trying for a whole book, over time? – and obviously summer is the time to really dig into that and get a solid start.

Practicing piano – I don’t play the piano very often. Kind of strange for someone who used to play 5…6…7 hours a day in her 20’s. I miss it.  You know that question people ask when they’re trying to help you figure out your passion in life?  “What makes you feel most like you?” My immediate answer: Playing piano.  Specifically, accompanying. So if that’s when I feel most like me, why don’t I ever play? It just gets pushed out by responsibilities of home and school. Surely I can fit lots of playing into those long, open, school-less summer days.

Blogging – If you hadn’t noticed, I’m really working on writing more frequently.  Think of all the writing I can do once school’s finished for the summer.

And to balance out all these intellectual pursuits, I plan to spend tons of time at the pool. This is our last summer in Florida, and I’m going to get really tan freckled.

Big plans.  Totally gonna happen.  Days are longer in summer, right? Like…48 hours each? 🙂

What are your summer plans?  Have you made goals – realistic or otherwise – for the upcoming months?

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Plans

  1. jenhamrick says:

    We’re doing preschool this summer! I’m really excited. We also just started geocaching.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Yep, we’re gonna do it all!

  3. Robyn Keeney says:

    This sounds great! I hope summer days are 48 hours and that I only have to work 8 of them.

Leave a Reply

