Wednesday with Words

I’ve been reading The Great Tradition, slowly, as one of my morning reads.  This week I arrived at the selection from Martin Luther, an excerpt from “To the Councilmen of All Cities in Germany.”  I was struck by these words:

For my part, if I had children and could manage it, I would have them study not only languages and history, but also singing and music together with the whole of mathematics.  For what is all this but mere child’s play? The ancient Greeks trained their children in these disciplines; yet they grew up to be people of wondrous ability, subsequently fit for everything…

…My idea is to have the boys attend such a school for one or two hours during the day, and spend the remainder of the time working at home, learning a trade, or doing whatever is expected of them. In this way, study and work will go hand-in-hand while the boys are young and able to do both. 

Doesn’t this sound ideal?  An atmosphere of learning that is enjoyable, thorough, and practical.

Check out what other people are reading at ladydusk.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday with Words

  1. dawn says:

    Wow. Study and work go hand in hand. I need to do more of the work portion :/

  2. Missy says:

    That’s pretty much exactly what my author (Ella Frances Lynch) encouraged in my reading this week – 400 years later. There is lots to be said for that. I too need to do the “work” part and not just the study. How did we end up so out of kilter?

  3. Rebecca says:

    That does sound ideal. I love the idea of learning a trade. My boys are already tired of hearing me recommend plumbing as a future career:)

Leave a Reply

