7 Quick Takes – Baseball, Books and Blogging

Linking up with Seven Quick Takes at This Ain’t the Lyceum.

One.  Abby decided she wanted her hair in a new style, found a picture, and hounded me until I made an appointment for her.

Before, super cute 12 year old with long blond and purple hair:

After. Though taken only an hour after the “before”, something mysterious happened with time and she now looks several years older:

Oh my heart. Here’s the view from the back:

And she’s really good at fixing it. She’s way cooler than I’ll ever be.

Two.  I was talking to someone about books last week – as you do – and she mentioned that she was enjoying a book called The Secret Keeper.  I had heard of it, possibly on Anne Bogel’s podcast, and decided to check my library for it. I figured I could read it quickly this week, before my trip.  So I put it on hold, picked it up, and finished the other two fiction books I already had going so that my head wouldn’t explode.

Wednesday afternoon around 2:00 I sat down to start the book.

And then I pretty much ignored my family and all responsibilities until I finished it about 11:00.

Hey, I looked up to acknowledge people from time to time – what more do they need?  I even walked, because I was in a Fitbit Goal Day Challenge – which I obviously had to complete! – and by 5:00 I only had about 2,000 of my 10,000 steps.  Thank goodness for the gym treadmill.  I took the book and read and walked until I hit 10,000 steps.  I confess to being annoyed that I couldn’t drive and read simultaneously.

What I’m trying to say is, that book sucked me in.  It’s not necessarily the best book ever, but the characters and story are absorbing.  You’ve been warned.

Three. Summer is moving season in a military neighborhood. Several families in our corner of the neighborhood have moved in the last few weeks.  This week Ben had to say goodbye to his good buddy Max.

Big fans of Uno, those two.  Even if they did squabble continuously, every game.

Four.  I have been thinking about trying to grow the ole blog a bit, so I registered for Michael Hyatt’s webinar called Your Path to Influence. I enjoyed the quick pace and practical information, but I was disappointed that the webinar shut down before we received the free resource that had been promised repeatedly during the hour webinar – especially since the last ten minutes that I did hear was an extended commercial for his membership site.  At the hour mark, while he was still talking, the video screen went blank and the audio died. Bummer.

Five.  Wayne, Emma and Ben enjoyed a night out at the ballpark last night.

Our homeschool community made a great deal available – $3 tickets! – to see our local minor league team, The Blue Wahoos, play. Ben got a ball, which he gave to Emma afterwards because she was sad that he got a ball and she didn’t.

Six. Abby and I, meanwhile, stayed home for a Gilmore Girls marathon. We made frozen pizza and breadsticks and cookies and watched 6 episodes back to back – the last 3 of Season One and the first 3 of Season Two. Max and Lorelai will not, in fact, be getting married. Abby is already firmly Team Luke.  Atta girl.

When Wayne texted me the game selfie, I sent him this amazing (not) picture.  I really need photography lessons.

Seven. I’m going to say something controversial now, are you ready?

I don’t think Audible is worth it.

Sorry, hardcore Audible fans.

After hearing many, many positive reviews of it, especially in homeschool circles, I finally jumped into a membership a few months ago. I got my free book and bought a few more, but here’s the thing I don’t get: why would I want to own twelve new audio books each year? Why wouldn’t I just borrow/rent them, listen to them, and move on? What are the odds that I would re-listen to these books?  And – AND – why on earth would I pay $14.95 a month for one book credit and then use it for a book that costs less than $14.95? How is that a deal?

I do have to admit that Ben listens to the Henry Huggins collection every night, so that one was worth my $14.95. The others? I’d be better off borrowing.

I find Overdrive to be the better option.  My local library doesn’t use Overdrive, sadly, and I can’t figure out the website they do use for audio books and e-books. But I can use Overdrive through the Navy General Library. I use the app on my Kindle to borrow books, and the app on my phone to listen to audio books. I can download the files to my phone, so when I listen in the car or on a walk, I’m not even using data.

Best of all, it’s free.

I froze my Audible account for 3 months, but at the end of that time I’ll probably still end my membership.

Library for the win. Every time.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – Baseball, Books and Blogging

  1. loveandkate says:

    I love the baseball game vs. Gilmore evening! I would be torn on which to do! And they both sounded awesome. (And how sweet was Ben?! Aww!)

  2. jenhamrick says:

    Overdrive is the only way I read books. 🙂

  3. Robyn Keeney says:

    Library for the win, always! Love that Ben gave up his ball. And your GG night sounds awesome. Abby went from pre-teen to full-on-teen with that haircut. Aunt Robyn did not okay that!! But she looks beautiful.

  4. shirley wilmoth says:

    I’ve enjoyed this so much from start to finish and I’d comment except I’m too anxious to go back to the top and start all over again….see those pics again, hear the sweet stories again, and once again try to follow along with the audio/overdrive explanation which I understand nothing about but this is an awesome blog about all of you and I love it! Love your hair, Abby- you are just gorgeous

  5. Rosie says:

    I’ve been wondering why everybody raves about audible, too! We have The Chronicles of Narnia on CD, and I’m considering getting the Little House books, but other than that? Overdrive all the way!

  6. kmantoan says:

    We’re Overdrive fans in this house. I’ll also turn to the LibreVox app for free audio books. I’m a sucker for free. But also a fan of local minor league baseball where we can afford to attend as a family AND also buy some snacks. Thanks for linking up!

  7. Holly says:

    Yay to all of this! New follower, loving your style. 👍🏻

  8. michaelhyatt says:

    I am so sorry that happened with the webinar. If you write to me at support@michaelhyatt.com, I will have one of my teammates get you the free resource. We won’t have anyone in the office until Tuesday as Monday is a holiday. I apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

