My Sunday Best, Vol. 1 – Fashion and Me

No one has ever called me fashionable.

And that’s fine, I can’t say I’ve ever really tried to be.  I suppose I made something of an effort in high school and college, when I spent so much time around my peers and of course wanted boys to notice me (surprise! they didn’t).  My roommate Elaine taught me two important fashion rules circa 1991:

  1. Never wear white and off-white together.
  2. Wear a belt if it can be seen.

That’s the sum total of my fashion knowledge. Plus it’s 25 years old, and I’m not sure fashion, by definition, maintains that kind of longevity.

Over the years, especially since becoming a SAHM, my fashion ignorance has turned into fashion apathy. I don’t know what’s cool or what looks good on me, so I end up wearing running shorts and an old t-shirt most of the time.  Make-up? Why bother, I’m just staying home. Same for the hair – why fix it? Who has time for curling or straightening that mess? I’ve got books to read.

I prioritized my inner life and made that an excuse to neglect my outer appearance.

But I have been thinking about making a little more effort.  So when I ran across Rosie’s blog and her Pants-Free July challenge, I realized that it was the kick in the booty inspiration I needed.

Here’s the deal: For the month of July, I will wear skirts or dresses every day.  I am making an allowance for exercise – when I go for my walk or to the gym, I will wear gym clothes. But other than that, dresses or skirts every day, even if I’m not going anywhere. Also: hair and make-up done every day. I’m posting a daily picture on Instagram – taking a picture of myself every day may be the hardest part of the whole thing!

One more thing I found while browsing Rosie’s blog: her series called My Sunday Best. So while I was all into taking photos this morning, I made the kids pose for a few more so I could join that link up as well.

It was hard to get dressed this morning, I felt all this pressure because I knew I’d be taking a photo of myself!  In the end, I grabbed this old and comfortable maxi dress.

I convinced my favorite oldest daughter to take a picture with me while we were waiting for Sunday School to start.

After church I told the kids to pose by the van for a quick picture.  This is what happens when you ask Ben to smile:

Hey, look, Wayne wanted in the picture, too!

I reminded Ben that a smile should make him look happy, not like he’s in pain.  The girls, of course, looked down to see his expression for themselves.

Seriously, people, just one picture where you’re all looking at me and smiling. Just one and we can go.

Good enough. Yes, we see you, Wayne.  I also see the Bible that Emma inadvertently took from the church. We’ll be sure to put that back next week…

This is a stretching experiment for me – thinking about what I’m wearing and how I look, and especially taking pictures of myself to post. Here’s to growing as a person!

Happy Sunday!

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Sunday Best, Vol. 1 – Fashion and Me

  1. Laura Rose says:

    Really cute maxi dress, and the kids are so cute too! Can’t wait to see what you come up with for July!

  2. onecatholicmama says:

    I have the WORST time taking pictures with my kids. They seriously act like it is torture!!

  3. Rosie says:

    Your kids are adorable! And I love that maxi dress 🙂 Seriously one of my favorite clothing items – they’re just so comfy!!!

    I’m looking forward to following along and seeing how this month goes for you – I feel like I need a little bit of a reset myself… I definitely feel better when I pay attention to my appearance but it’s always hard to justify spending time on myself. I think your girls will notice the difference, and it’s such a good example to them, showing them that the sacrifice of motherhood doesn’t have to include neglecting your appearance!

  4. eysaint says:

    I love your maxi dress! You look lovely! I wish I could wear maxi dresses, but they always end up looking like nightgowns on me. I think it has something to do with my short, apple shaped body.

  5. Robyn Keeney says:

    Maxi dresses are comfy – and, you don’t really have to shave your legs! Bonus! (Oh, this was about paying more attention to your appearance, you say? Disregard.) I like the idea of a pants- free month because it would force me to wear them, but I think I would get hypothermia in my office and croak.

Leave a Reply

