Myers-Briggs – What am I?

I should be writing a My Sunday Best post, filled with all those annoying daily selfies that I force myself to take. I wore skirts every day this week, and wore make-up too, and took pictures for a post.

But I can’t write that post right now because today I fell down a research hole, trying to decide if I’m really INTJ or actually ISTJ.  I took the test awhile ago – maybe a couple of years ago? – and discovered that I was INTJ. Recently I heard that someone I seem to have a lot in common with is an ISTJ, so I did some research and re-took the test, and the results were ISTJ.  So now I’m baffled and obsessed with solving the puzzle of Who I Am. 

Why do I need to figure it out, you ask? Oh, no reason. I just want to know, and seem unable to move on with my life until I decide.  Is that a point for one or the other?

Ways I am INTJ:

  • Love to read all the books, learn all the things.  Being called a bookworm is a compliment.
  • Don’t like to be touched. I mean, I can hug you if I know you, but really. We can each stay in our own space, that’ll be fine.
  • Have no tolerance for stupidity, messiness, or inefficiency.
  • Hate small talk. This really cannot be overemphasized. It made last week’s conference difficult for me.
  • High standards, perfectionism.
  • Can’t stop thinking. Oh, the things that I can’t stop thinking about in the middle of the night.
  • Can be a leader if the situation calls for one, but otherwise content to follow a leader I trust.

BUT, all the descriptions say INTJs are super confident and I am not. I’m also a big fan of rules and tradition, which INTJs are supposed to spurn.  And I’m not much of a debater. The description of INTJs under stress – turning to mindless repetition and sensate activities – doesn’t seem to fit.

Ways I am ISTJ:

  • Dependable, reliable, dutiful.
  • Value security and peaceful living.
  • Always have a detailed plan.
  • Enjoy rules and structure.
  • Under stress: go to catastrophic mode and imagine the worst of everything. Do I ever!

So what do you think? Should I continue to think of myself as INTJ, even though some aspects don’t fit, and I do have quite a few strong ISTJ tendencies? Please, someone, figure me out so I can do something else. 😉

(If you’re not familiar with the types, here’s a helpful link.)

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Myers-Briggs – What am I?

  1. April says:

    I could pass this by Matt. He is Meyers Briggs certified. We do type talk all the time. 🙂

  2. jenhamrick says:

    I think you’re more architect.
    I took the test as a freshman in college and I am an INFP. 😀

  3. Robyn says:

    Ha ha I totally understand having to know. Now I want to take the test. If it isn’t too long I’ll report back. Curious because I hate small talk, have a low tolerance for stupidity, but handle stress pretty calmly and have no trouble sleeping during the night. Or day. Or noon.

  4. Robyn says:

    I’m the defender. I am naturally social but still an introvert. I take responsibility seriously and can be a perfectionist. And my sensitivity helps me give good gifts.

  5. jenhamrick says:

    Ok, I just took the test and it says INTJ. I call shenanigans.

  6. shirley wilmoth says:

    Finally took the test just now. ESFJ-T pretty accurate -at least I think so. To those of you who know me, I apologize if you don’t agree…..I hate conflict and wouldn’t want to make anyone feel like I didn’t agree with them. (: I must go organize my notes now…they are written sloppily and I wouldn’t want anyone to find them in that state. I hope this has helped someone along their way.

  7. Rebecca says:

    See, that’s one reason I feel like these tests are difficult. I think people are too complicated and too many pieces of too many things to be categorized. So. . . you are parts of both?

Leave a Reply

