7 Quick Takes – Sales and Soccer and a Shocking Change

seven-quick-takes-300x300

Okay, fine, the change isn’t that shocking. Don’t get too excited. But – alliteration!

One. Wayne got a new car!

He traded his truck, which was having increasingly frequent maintenance issues, for a Honda Accord. I won’t say he’s in love with it, but he did wash it last night in the dark. Make of that what you will.

Two. Having been asked multiple times in the course of a recent morning to please stop singing, Emma created her own solution from her handy stash of s’mores duct tape.

It worked pretty well, I must say.

Three. The kids all started soccer this week.  I hate having to go places in the evenings – or, um, ever – but as activities go, this is pretty simple.  They practice and play at the park across the street from our house. We literally walk to practice. The girls are on the same team, just like they were in the spring. They’re all looking forward to playing again.

Four. We are planning to participate in our neighborhood yard sale on Saturday. Since we don’t have much free time during the week, I spent some time cleaning out stuff last Saturday.  I pulled Ben’s bed away from the wall and found this:

So many Legos. So many colored pencils and markers. So much dog hair. So gross.

I’ve got a big pile of stuff to sell, but I’m still unclear about how and when I’m going to organize and price it all before Saturday morning.  Wildly hoping something will work out.

Five. I took pictures of morning time so I could write a post about what we do in morning time, and then…I decided to ax morning time.  (See, that’s the shocking change. Cue dramatic music.)  Hoping to write more about it soon, but I’m learning that sometimes, maybe, possibly, it’s okay to plan less and go with the flow.

Wow. Did I just say that?  I might need to go lie down.

Here’s what morning time used to look like. Before we quit doing it.

Six.  In direct contrast to that last take, thank goodness, I have started planning breakfasts as well as dinners.  I make a special breakfast about 3 times a week.  Those days not at all coincidentally correspond to my eating days. 🙂

This week I made cinnamon rolls from scratch.  This is a big deal, since I’m not above eating the “pop the can” kind.  I prepped the rolls the night before, stuck them in the fridge on the cookie sheet overnight, and simply cooked them the next morning.  They were a hit.

Other recent attempts at #uppingmybreakfastgame have included chocolate chip pancakes, and bacon and cheese quiche.  Yum.

Seven.  This week really has been a light reading week for me.  In fact, I think I’ve only read Les Mis!  Well, I’m also reading A Wrinkle in Time to Emma.  And The Railway Children to all the kids.  But otherwise, I’m studying Latin.

You can read more Quick Takes at Kelly’s blog.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – Sales and Soccer and a Shocking Change

  1. Rachel says:

    Umm, can I come to your house for breakfast? We’re pretty solidly in a cereal and milk rut. One of my problems is that I want to get the kids started with school ASAP, somehow the later we start it takes exponentially longer to finish . . . BUT we do have second breakfast most days because, well, cereal doesn’t really cut it . . .

    Good luck with the yard sale!

  2. Robyn Keeney says:

    I would like to come over for breakfast three days a week, which may or may not coincide with your non-fasting days. I’ll just go with the flow and see how that works out. Super casual.

  3. Rebecca says:

    You told Emma not to sing!! My sympathies are with her, as I was also corrected for humming in school. Why did you ax morning time?

  4. shirley wilmoth says:

    love how you write …love your blogs…and you.

Leave a Reply

