This Is A Blog Post

Hey there! I can’t believe how long it’s been since I posted.

First, I didn’t blog because I spent every free minute looking online at houses.

Then, I divided my time between looking online at houses and packing everything in my house.

And then we left Pensacola, made the looooong drive to Maryland, and spent a week looking at houses.  It was…rough.  All 5 of us – plus the 2 dogs – in a hotel room. For a week. Looking at one horribly weird house after another.  I think I was on the verge of tears at all times for several weeks straight.

Because sometimes you spend umpteen hours online looking at houses and narrow down your search to your most favorite few, and you figure as long as no one else snaps up all those houses before you get there, you can definitely end up owning one of those, so it’s all going to be fine.

And then you step into those houses and you realize: professional photography LIES.

So then you cry a lot and wish you didn’t have to move at all.

It’s been a little stressful, is what I’m trying to say.

We did finally find a house and everything seems to be going well with the closing process.  We are scheduled to close on January 4.

In the meantime, the kids and I are living in Ohio, at my mom’s house. Wayne finished up in Florida, packed the truck and moved all our stuff into storage, and started work in Maryland this week.

(Also, in the midst of all the change and transition, we changed the hosting website for my blog pictures. And I don’t know how to use it yet. My brain can only handle so much.)

 

I’m trying to find a new – though temporary – normal, doing school as best I can, cooking our favorite meals, getting in my steps.  Change is brutal for an ISTJ like me. Routine is soothing.  You don’t realize how many things in your life are automated until nothing is automated and you have to think twice about every single thing you do. Where are my socks? Where is my toothpaste? Where in the world did I put my glasses?

So, to sum up: the past few months have been stressful and full of change, and the change isn’t over yet, but I’m adapting. I haven’t been studying Latin or theology; for a few weeks I hardly even read. I barely listened to podcasts and I’m way behind on reading blog posts. I haven’t bought a single Christmas present.

But I’m not on the verge of tears at all times and I think I finally remembered where I’m keeping my toothpaste.  And that’s a start.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Is A Blog Post

  1. Kimberly says:

    You are beautiful! Keep up the great work!!

  2. Robyn says:

    At least there’s toothpaste! Moving is so stressful. I think I forgot how much I hate it.

Leave a Reply

