Nomads No More: Life in Maryland

We’ve been in Maryland for a month now. We moved into our house on January 5, and Wayne emptied the storage unit today. Our garage is full of stuff, there are still boxes in the basement that need to be organized and random tools on the dining room floor – which is fine, really, because we don’t have a dining room table – and the living room set we ordered on January 9 won’t be delivered until March 20.

But progress has been made. Three out of four bedrooms have blinds, and only half the mattresses are still on the floor. The kids’ rooms have been painted in the colors they chose, and life is carrying on in a mostly calm and normal manner.

After initially feeling overwhelmed and rather annoyed by the Maryland homeschool regulations, which require periodic portfolio reviews, I made the decision to do our reviews with the county instead of with an umbrella school.  The county is free, and the umbrellas I looked at all charge fees and require way more documentation than the law demands. I’m not happy about it; I consider it invasive for the government to get involved in my parenting, but on the other hand, I know I’m giving my kids a great education and more than meeting the legal requirements. Except for health. I have to teach health now. {insert huge eye roll here}  And that’s all I have to say about that.

We found a guitar teacher for Abby, and a violin teacher for Emma. (She was inspired by her cousin to take up violin again! Hurray!) And Emma is going to play soccer – indoor soccer, so I totally don’t have to sit out in the cold to watch her play.  Hip, hip, hooray for that!

With all the craziness of the move, I didn’t do my normal end of the year books post. But if you are interested, here’s the link to my Goodreads year in books 2016.  My favorite reads of 2016 were The Count of Monte Cristo, Hannah Coulter, and Ben-Hur.  Which – now that I think about it – were all audio books.  Interesting.

For 2017, I decided to stick with the goal of 100 books.  I also set a goal of reading the entire Shakespeare canon according to this schedule.  The pace is slightly insane, but I’ve hardly read any Shakespeare at all, so I think of it as an overview.  I’m really enjoying it so far. I’ve been ordering the Folger editions of the plays as they come up on the schedule, which means we will have quite a collection of Shakespeare by the end of the year!  Now that we live close to D.C., I look forward to visiting the Folger museum – and hopefully even seeing a play or two there!

My Latin studies were completely left behind when we left our Pensacola house to live as short-term nomads, but I plan to start again soon. Soon. Definitely, soon. Honestly, y’all, I never want to do anything but read. I do the work that I ought to do, and all day long I’m just hoping that I’ll get it all done in time to read read read. I want to do other things, like learn Latin and practice piano and sing in a chamber group…but how can I Do All The Things and also Read All The Books? It’s a conundrum. 😉 But seriously. Latin. Totally going to start studying again.  Emma started Second Form last week and I know I have to study in order to teach her properly.

I do watch a little tv, mostly in the interest of spending time with my family. Wayne and I are all caught up on Poldark and have started The Crown. Is it weird that I love all Queen Elizabeth’s clothes? From the 50s?  I’m always struck by how women of that time looked like women.  So feminine. And Abby and I have been watching through Gilmore Girls, since her friend Hunter is in the new episodes and she didn’t want to watch those until she’d seen all the old ones. I told her she could watch them if we watched them together. It’s been a good bonding experience, and has, I hope, shown her how horrible the writing is on those dumb Disney shows she previously watched. 😉

What have you been reading? Do you watch The Crown? Poldark? Gilmore Girls? Were you shocked and disappointed when Rory mispronounced Wodehouse in season 5? (Just had to get that out.)

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nomads No More: Life in Maryland

  1. jenhamrick says:

    Yay!!! for an end to your nomadness. (Nomadery?) That stinks about the homeschool regulations.
    I suppose you know what I’ve been reading (thanks to Goodreads!). I keep trying audio books but listening is hard!
    I didn’t notice that Rory mispronounced Wodehouse in season 5 but I watched Gilmore Girls before I ever read any Wodehouse so that could be why.
    I’m glad to hear you’re settling in!

  2. maryswanbell says:

    Glad you are settling in. I don’t watch Gilmore girls but have been reading the Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny. Out of order. But I love and highly recommend it. I am like you. All I want to do is read read read haha.

  3. Rebecca says:

    100 books? And reading all of Shakespeare’s canon? I am totally impressed. I’ve decided to just try to read at least 2 books per month. I don’t think I even accomplished that last year. And already I am frightened because Monte Cristo is so huge. I had to stick Tina Fey’s book in there this week just to make sure I don’t get behind already. I’m surprised Rory mispronounced Wodehouse. Someone dropped the ball there!

  4. Wayne says:

    OK, OK….I will pick up the tools when I get home 🙂

    Love ya for all you do!

  5. Robyn says:

    LOL to Wayne’s comment. I have (mostly) decided that my 3rd bedroom will be a library. You can come over and we can sit in comfy (yet to be purchased) reading chairs and just read. You are in charge of snacks.

Leave a Reply

