What I’m Reading – January/February

In January and February I read —

  • Right Ho, Jeeves (P.G. Wodehouse) – I needed something light to read while we were waiting to close on our house, and Wodehouse always delights.
  • Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte) – I bought this at a library sale in Ohio and read it also while we were hanging out, homeless and library card-less. I didn’t care for it. It was so, so dark and I didn’t even like any of the characters.
  • Beowulf: Dragonslayer (Rosemary Sutcliff) – A somewhat random choice after hearing Beowulf mentioned on a podcast.
  • The Far Side of the Loch (Melissa Wiley) – We own a lot of books I’ve never read. I’m trying to get to them all so I can better assign things to the kids, or just recommend them. This is a sweet story but my girls are too old for it and it probably won’t interest Ben because the main characters are girls.
  • Murder Must Advertise (Dorothy L. Sayers) – My favorite podcast, Close Reads, discussed this book recently. I read it to participate, so to speak. It was my 4th Sayers, I believe, and probably my last. Her stories are just *bored shoulder shrug* to me.
  • Home (Marilynne Robinson) – I’ve heard a few people rave about this series, including the folks on my second favorite podcast, Bibliophiles, so I thought I’d give it a try. I did not like it, Sam I Am.  I thought it was sad and repetitive and utterly without redemption.  I stayed up late to finish it, sure that redemption was coming, and then wanted to throw the book across the room at the end. I was seriously in a funk most of the next day over it.
  • The Wars of the Roses (Dan Jones) – I picked this up on a whim, thinking it might help me keep the kings straight as I was reading the Henry VI plays. (More on that anon.) It turned out to be a bit confusing, as the events in the various books didn’t line up with my reading. I would think, “Wait, didn’t he already die? Oh, right, that was in the other book.” But it was interesting, I enjoyed the writing, and I would like to read more of his books at some point.
  • The Eagle of the Ninth (Rosemary Sutcliff) – This is on all the lists, and we’re studying Ancients this year, so I was basically pre-reading to see if I should hand it to Abby at some point this spring. I enjoyed it, so it’s coming her way soon.
  • Out of the Ashes (Anthony Esolen) – I read this for my online book club (Pillar Book Club). I loved it so much that I read it twice in a row. And took notes. And bought the audio book and made my husband promise to listen to it on his commute.

In the daily Shakespeare plan that I’m following I have read —

  • The Two Gentlemen of Verona
  • The Taming of the Shrew
  • Henry VI, Parts 1, 2, and 3
  • Titus Andronicus (so gruesome)
  • Richard III (my favorite so far)

With or to the kids I have read —

  • Detectives in Togas (Henry Winterfeld) – Assigned to Emma. I read it too, but separately, so I could discuss it with her.
  • The Boxcar Children (#1) (Gertrude Chandler Warner) – Read aloud to Ben.
  • A Lion to Guard Us (Clyde Robert Bulla) – Read aloud to Ben. We read most of it in December, had to return it to the library in Ohio, and finished it after we got a library card here.
  • The Cat of Bubastes (G. A. Henty) – Henty books are on all the lists, so I assigned this to Abby and read it separately so I could discuss it with her. The beginning dragged, the middle picked up and got moderately interesting, and the end dragged again. She’s still reading it, unwillingly. I’m not sure we’ll try Henty again. Sutcliff is similar but better.
  • Little House in the Big Woods (Laura Ingalls Wilder) – Team reading with Ben. We took turns reading aloud. He really liked it. I capitalized on that by immediately beginning Farmer Boy with him. 🙂

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I’m Reading – January/February

  1. jenhamrick says:

    Thanks for sharing!
    It excites me that Ben liked Little House.

  2. Rebecca says:

    So many books! You are awesome! I definitely need to read “Out of the Ashes.”

  3. shirley wilmoth says:

    wow. Some might think that all you do is read. If they know you at all, and reading this blog they must, that is not true at all! I have enjoyed your honest comments on what you have read and they remind me to get myself on “Good Reads” once in a while and let other readers know what I think of my selections. I definitely “second” what Rebecca said.

  4. Robyn says:

    Twice in a row? I know that must be a good one. I’ll see if they have it at my local library, where I am now a card-carrying patron. 🙂

Leave a Reply

