Spring Break: Acceptable Progress

I really want to blog regularly, but I just cannot seem to make time to do it. I also want to read blogs, but days – sometimes weeks – go by and I don’t even open my feed app! It’s all very Romans 7.  At any rate, here I am again.

We’ve been on Spring Break this week. I was feeling burned out and weary from school, and also overwhelmed with house tasks. When you move – or at least when I move – the first level boxes get duly unpacked and the essentials are put in their places rather quickly. We have to eat, sleep, shower, do school. But by the time you make all those decisions, you are sick of boxes (and decisions) and mostly just wondering why you even have all this stuff. And so it gets shoved in a corner and ignored for a few months.

This week was supposed to be about unpacking those boxes, finding homes for their contents, buying needed furniture, and making some attempt to decorate.

We’ve done some of that. We bought a dining room table.

We bought a new bed for Abby, along with bedding and curtains. Blackout curtains, because she’s 13 and thinks sleeping in is important.

We got curtains for the front room, cheerful yellow and blue flowered curtains. They’re happy.  My last couple of houses did not have curtains at all, because choosing them stresses me out. But we did a good job this time, if I do say so myself.

Wayne cleared out the garage – sort of. He really just shifted everything to one side so we could get the van into the garage ahead of the snow storm. Which was helpful.

I did unpack a number of boxes and found homes for their contents. Even this one:

I still want to move all our school stuff to the basement, but before we can do that, work needs to be done on the basement. And that has not been done yet.

The snow was a bit distracting. Emma and Ben have been out playing in it multiple times each day (today is the third day of snow on the ground).

And that’s been about it. I was hoping for a week of radical progress, but I guess progress is progress.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring Break: Acceptable Progress

  1. Becky says:

    Moving is hard. Ron and I moved from my mobile home to this house when Lori was 7 years old and we filled the house. It took me three weeks to unpack a box a night, and I think it was all kitchen stuff. Scott moved out, so we set up our queen size 4 post cannon ball bed in his room. Moved the matching dresser in there and are in the process of cleaning the small bedroom and bringing in the twin 4 poster bed that matches the furniture in there. I don’t know where all the junk came from. I am finding tons of sheets, it is crazy! I think I need to shovel it out and start over!

  2. shirley wilmoth says:

    sounds like plenty of progress to me. Moving is a big job. They tell me.

  3. Rebecca says:

    It sounds like great progress! Your “kitchen crap” box label is awesome.

  4. Robyn says:

    I unpacked a bunch in a rush and then felt I had “done enough” and let a couple weeks go by. Now everything is unpacked but I still feel like I’m missing items… DVD player?? Modem? I had these things! I keep looking for more boxes to unpack and finding none.

Leave a Reply

