Overhaulin’ When A Tweak Will Do

When you realize something in your life isn’t going the way you want it to, do you ever decide to scrap the whole system and institute something completely new?

Please tell me I’m not the only one.  I’m just realizing that I do that.  And with some frequency, actually.

When I decide we’re not reading aloud enough in our homeschool, I start looking at literature-strong programs – usually Ambleside or Sonlight. All those books! Scheduled and everything! If we switched to those we would just read and read and everything would be perfect.

And then I start to really think through implementing a completely different curriculum, with a completely different philosophy, and (after spending hours online) I come to the conclusion that I like my current curriculum, because I agree with its philosophy, and if I want us to read more we could…wait for it…just read more.

A small tweak. Not an overhaul.

You wouldn’t believe how many times that situation has played out for me.

It also happens with diet. After trying basically All The Diets, I found one that worked for me: the Every Other Day Diet. But because that diet doesn’t restrict what you eat, just when and how many calories, it is possible to follow the diet and still make unhealthy choices. And it dawned on me recently that I was eating a ton of sugar and drinking too much caffeine.

Guess what I did? Spent an afternoon researching clean eating diets. What to do, what to do? I need to eat more vegetables and less sugar. What diet will help me do that?

And then I realized I was doing it again. Hey, Mel, how about you keep following the same diet – the one that’s worked for you and that you find easy to follow – but just eat less sugar and more vegetables?

A small tweak. Not an overhaul.

Sometimes that’s enough.

About waymel

Navy wife. Homeschooling mom. Adoptive parent. Pianist. Introvert. One who loves quiet and beauty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Overhaulin’ When A Tweak Will Do

  1. Rebecca says:

    I’m pretty sure I do that, too!

  2. Robyn says:

    I’m trying to think if I do that, and now I’m thinking maybe I don’t have any systems and I should get some.
    Random side note: Saying I should get some reminded me of Em when she was little and she used to tell me, “How come you don’t have any kids, Aunt Robyn? You should get some!”

Leave a Reply

